Moisturizer Question...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mugsy27

Sous Chef
Its finaly getting cold here on the east coast, and for me that means 2 things:

1. dry skin
2. having to make that god awful trip to the store to buy some moisturizer, where I get the pleasure of having some 16 year old chick smirk at me from behind the register with that "not gettin any, so now your going to rub one out??" look on her face.

So if I have to go through that, I would like your opinions on what a good hand / face lotion is?? Can I get a lotion for both the hands and face?? Should I keep the separate?

What brands do you all find work well??

The boys and dh like the Vaseline Intesive care lotions. The one they use more of is in the blue and white bottle. I think it's protect and renew?

I have been using a vintamin E skin cream for a couple of years now & it works really good. I get it in an 8oz tub for $1 at Dollar General or Family Dollar(can't remember which right now). I use it from my face to my feet every night before I go to bed. It smells kinda like roses.

In the very cold weather, I find the only thing that moisturises my face and keeps the peeling to a minimum (I'm a martyr to central heating!) is Clinique's Moisture Surge - it's expensive, but it is the only thing that seems to work for me.

I also have a bottle of Clinique's moisture spritzer which I keep in my desk drawer and use two or three times a day.

thatks for the suggestions...keep em coming!!

im a guy btw...so i would prefer not to smell like roses!! hopefully some of these brands come unscented!

Mugs, I wouldn't pay any attention to a 16-year-old behind a counter.

Two of the best IMO, are Nivia and Cetaphil.

Mugsy
Clinique do the moisture surge in their Men's range - my husband buys it - it comes in a more 'manly' tube, rather than a tub!