"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > The Back Porch > Off Topic Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2007, 12:06 AM   #1
Certified/Certifiable
 
Chief Longwind Of The North's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA,Michigan
Posts: 10,368
Need Computer Hardware Help

I just installed a new Seagate 80 Gog. Ultra-ATA-100/EIDE/OEM hardrive to my computer. I'm running a Pentium P4 on an Asus P4S533 Motherboard. I went into the bios and can see the hardrive with all of its specs. The bios is set to Auto-Detect. Ultra DMA is set to 5. I have an Ultra-ATA cable with the blue end connected to the motherboard, the black connected to the 40 gig Master HDD, and the grey connector hooked onto the 80 gig slave HDD. When I go into system properties/hardware/Hardrives, I see both HDD's under device manager. But when I go into My Computer, I see only the master "C" drive. When I right click on the C-drive option, and look at Properties/Hardware, I can see both drives listed.

I don't understand why I don't see a seperate letter designation for the new drive, and why I can't determine the available storage on it from Windows XP. All the information available to me shows that the drive is being seen, but I can't access it.

Any computer whizards out there who can help would be greatly appreciated.

Seeeeya; Goodweed of the North

__________________
“No amount of success outside the home can compensate for failure within the home…"

Check out my blog for the friendliest cooking instruction on the net. Go ahead. You know you want to.- https://gwnorthsfamilycookin.wordpress.com/
Chief Longwind Of The North is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 12:26 AM   #2
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 373
Did you run FDISK and/or format the drive yet?

It sounds like the Hardware is installed correclty, but until you have a formatted partition, I don't believe XP will see the drive..

-Brad
candelbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 12:46 AM   #3
Certified/Certifiable
 
Chief Longwind Of The North's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA,Michigan
Posts: 10,368
HOw do I format the drive when I can't see it? So I need to format it in DOS?

Seeeeya; Goodweed of the North
__________________
“No amount of success outside the home can compensate for failure within the home…"

Check out my blog for the friendliest cooking instruction on the net. Go ahead. You know you want to.- https://gwnorthsfamilycookin.wordpress.com/
Chief Longwind Of The North is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 02:36 AM   #4
Executive Chef
 
justplainbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eastern Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goodweed of the North View Post
I just installed a new Seagate 80 Gog. Ultra-ATA-100/EIDE/OEM hardrive to my computer. I'm running a Pentium P4 on an Asus P4S533 Motherboard. I went into the bios and can see the hardrive with all of its specs. The bios is set to Auto-Detect. Ultra DMA is set to 5. I have an Ultra-ATA cable with the blue end connected to the motherboard, the black connected to the 40 gig Master HDD, and the grey connector hooked onto the 80 gig slave HDD. When I go into system properties/hardware/Hardrives, I see both HDD's under device manager. But when I go into My Computer, I see only the master "C" drive. When I right click on the C-drive option, and look at Properties/Hardware, I can see both drives listed.

I don't understand why I don't see a seperate letter designation for the new drive, and why I can't determine the available storage on it from Windows XP. All the information available to me shows that the drive is being seen, but I can't access it.

Any computer whizards out there who can help would be greatly appreciated.

Seeeeya; Goodweed of the North
Do you have the pin switch / jumper settings positioned appropriately?
justplainbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 08:21 AM   #5
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 354
You did not mention what version of the Windows Operating System you are using. I'll assume Windows XP Home or Professional.

Can you see the drive if you go to:

(Category View)
Control Panel ... Performance and Maintenance ... Administrative Tools ... Computer Management

(Classic View)
Control Panel ... Computer Management

If Windows can recognize the drive on this screen you have it set up correctly. This screen will tell you how Windows sees the drive, how it's partitioned and formatted. If it's not partitioned and/or formatted you can do that from this screen by selecting the drive and right clicking on it for a drop-down menu of commands.
Aurora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 08:31 AM   #6
Head Chef
 
LT72884's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UTAH, BABY
Posts: 1,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goodweed of the North View Post
HOw do I format the drive when I can't see it? So I need to format it in DOS?

Seeeeya; Goodweed of the North
If you right click on my computer and select the option that says manage. then when it opens go under one called disk management under the storage tab. in there you should be able to see your new HDD and it should say something like HEALTHY unpartitioned or something like that. Right click on the drive you want to format and click format. That is how i do it in windows. Ill keep looking for more answers. good luck
__________________
*A substitute for human interaction* - I really need to find a girl whos name doesnt end with .JPG
https://grillofmydreams.bluedisk.org
LT72884 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 08:32 AM   #7
Head Chef
 
LT72884's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UTAH, BABY
Posts: 1,421
Totally didnt see Aurora's post
__________________
*A substitute for human interaction* - I really need to find a girl whos name doesnt end with .JPG
https://grillofmydreams.bluedisk.org
LT72884 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 08:56 AM   #8
Executive Chef
 
YT2095's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Central UK.
Posts: 3,875
Send a message via MSN to YT2095
sometimes the drive setting pins (gold pins with a black plastic movable Pip) even when set to slave won`t show up, I`ve found that if you remove all the pips it will then pick up the drive quite nicely :)
note the pip setting, then pull them all out, then try.
if it doesn`t work you can always put them back again :)
__________________
Katherine Snow. xx
YT2095 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 10:31 AM   #9
Sous Chef
 
vyapti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 871
Send a message via Yahoo to vyapti
Like justplainbill and YT2095 say, its probably jumper settings. I would try YT2095s advise and pull the jumpers completely. If that doesn't work, the search the manufacturer's website for both hard drives (by model #). They will have jumper settings. Make sure that the jumpers are set correctly for the slave and master and you should be good to go. Good Luck.
vyapti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 10:42 AM   #10
Head Chef
 
keltin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Down South in Alabama
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via AIM to keltin
Actually, since the Bios can see the drive and the Device Manager in Windows can see it, the jumpers are probably fine. It’s most likely a problem with not being formatted properly. As Aurora said, go through the Administrative tools to Computer Management and then Disc Management and check the file system and partitioning. If you can see the disc there, then the jumpers are fine and the HDD is most likely blank and needs to be formatted. From disc management you can also manually assign a drive letter to the new HDD as well.

BUT.....just to be sure.....you did change the jumper setting on the new drive to Slave right?

Click image for larger version

Name:	HDD.JPG
Views:	143
Size:	54.4 KB
ID:	3112
keltin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 10:48 AM   #11
Chef Extraordinaire
 
buckytom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: My mountain
Posts: 21,539
what keltin said.

gw, right click the "my computer" icon, and click on "manage", then on "disk management".

you should see your drives.

right click on the drive you want to format, and select "partitions".

then follow the steps to format it.
__________________
The past is gone it's all been said.
So here's to what the future brings,
I know tomorrow you'll find better things
buckytom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 11:17 AM   #12
Head Chef
 
keltin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Down South in Alabama
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via AIM to keltin
Quote:
Originally Posted by buckytom View Post
gw, right click the "my computer" icon, and click on "manage", then on "disk management".
Whoa, I didn't know you could get there with that shortcut. Nice! Much easier than going through Administrative tools. Thanks for the info!
keltin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 11:48 AM   #13
Head Chef
 
LT72884's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UTAH, BABY
Posts: 1,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by keltin View Post
Whoa, I didn't know you could get there with that shortcut. Nice! Much easier than going through Administrative tools. Thanks for the info!
Yup, thats the way i do it all the time.
__________________
*A substitute for human interaction* - I really need to find a girl whos name doesnt end with .JPG
https://grillofmydreams.bluedisk.org
LT72884 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 11:52 AM   #14
Chef Extraordinaire
 
buckytom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: My mountain
Posts: 21,539
no prob keltin.

laziness has it's attributes.
__________________
The past is gone it's all been said.
So here's to what the future brings,
I know tomorrow you'll find better things
buckytom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 11:52 AM   #15
Certified/Certifiable
 
Chief Longwind Of The North's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA,Michigan
Posts: 10,368
Thanks everyone. After I make a meal for some visitors (chicken enchilladas, and tamalles), I should be able to get everything up and running with the advice listed. I'll let you know with a whoop and a holler when it's up.

Seeeeeya; Goodweed of the North
__________________
“No amount of success outside the home can compensate for failure within the home…"

Check out my blog for the friendliest cooking instruction on the net. Go ahead. You know you want to.- https://gwnorthsfamilycookin.wordpress.com/
Chief Longwind Of The North is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 10:20 AM   #16
Certified/Certifiable
 
Chief Longwind Of The North's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA,Michigan
Posts: 10,368
Whoop! Holler! Eureka! It works. My 80-gig is up and running, and it's so quiet I can't even hear it over the normal fan noise of the computer. Good job and great advise from everyone. Thanks. And yes, I did have to format the drive.

Seeeeeeeya; Goodweed of the North
__________________
“No amount of success outside the home can compensate for failure within the home…"

Check out my blog for the friendliest cooking instruction on the net. Go ahead. You know you want to.- https://gwnorthsfamilycookin.wordpress.com/
Chief Longwind Of The North is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 10:25 AM   #17
Head Chef
 
LT72884's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UTAH, BABY
Posts: 1,421
NICE dude. So what did ya do to get it to work.
__________________
*A substitute for human interaction* - I really need to find a girl whos name doesnt end with .JPG
https://grillofmydreams.bluedisk.org
LT72884 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 10:32 AM   #18
Head Chef
 
keltin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Down South in Alabama
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via AIM to keltin
Excellent!

And LT, check this........
keltin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 10:36 AM   #19
Head Chef
 
LT72884's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UTAH, BABY
Posts: 1,421
WHOA WTF how did i miss that. I read that like three times and i even stared at his emoticon thats going crazy but yet i still missed that. hmm

EDIT
CRAP i just spilled oatmeal all over my keyboard. How am i gonna get those peaches out.
__________________
*A substitute for human interaction* - I really need to find a girl whos name doesnt end with .JPG
https://grillofmydreams.bluedisk.org
LT72884 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2007, 02:39 PM   #20
Head Chef
 
LT72884's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UTAH, BABY
Posts: 1,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by keltin View Post
Excellent!

And LT, check this........
you have alot of tabs open in this pic. lol
__________________
*A substitute for human interaction* - I really need to find a girl whos name doesnt end with .JPG
https://grillofmydreams.bluedisk.org
LT72884 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.