Online Name Origins

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chief Longwind Of The North

Certified/Certifiable
I was asked by a friend to share the origins of my online name. So here's the story. I invite all who feel so inspired to follow with their own name origins.

When I was a young boy, and even into my early 20's, I was scrawny and small. I joined the U.S. Navy wieghing in at 123 lbs. I graduated high-school at a whopping 92 lbs. or so. And when I was younger, I was often the target of bullies, or the kid who always got picked last in neighborhood sporting contests. I wasn't a coward, and my athleticism was actually very good. But I had no self-confidence. I remember several times when I would come home to my Father's house completely dejected and moping about, angry for the way I was often treated by other boys my age. My Dad would stand me in my bedroom doorway and make a mark above my head with a pencil, on the door jam. Then, he'd try his best to be my biggest fan, and to boost my hopes. He'd always say something like this:

"You know Bobby, look at this mark. You've grown a half inch since the last time I measured you. I was skinny too when I was your age, and look at me now, 5'11" tall. Don't worry. One of these days you're gonna sprout up like a bad weed. Why I knew this guy who left school for summer vacation when he was about 16 years old. He was not even your size in the spring. When he came back in the fall, he'd grown a good 8 inches. So don't you worry. You're gonna grow."