What would you expect to find in your kitchen in 20 years ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

melordia

Assistant Cook
Hello everyone,

I have always been interested in cooking and cooking utensils. Since I started my studies I wished I could be part of the next innovation in the kitchen.

I am now a product designer and I am writing a theses on the kitchen of the future, therefore I was wondering : what does people who cook a lot were expecting their kitchen to look like in 20 years ? Do you believe in what is projected in science fiction movies ? Is it really important for you to have cooking robots ?

I am sure many of you have many stories and/or expectation about their kitchen. Thus, I was wondering if some of you were willing to share their experience here ?

I want a Star Trek style replicator. Once I make something that turns out spectacular, I would love to have a machine that could replicate that exactly. It would also be handy for when a recipe calls for an ingredient one doesn't happen to have. Okay, that's unlikely in 20 years, but, who knows.

Who knows indeed. We have 3-D printers now. All they need to do is figure out how to make things with organic source materials. Should be easy, right? [emoji1787] [emoji1787] [emoji1787]

This will be interesting to watch. Sometimes it tastes like we already have cooking robots. I'm living with my 25-years-ago kitchen plan and it still works great for me. There probably are a few things in this life that will always require the human hand and taste buds.
(Maybe wishful thinking on my part)

Ooh, a 3-D printer for food. I can imagine beautiful, lacy chocolate or other confectionery concoctions. Also, intricate pasta shapes, fancy shapes for cookies, hmm ...

Last edited:
In 20 years many things may change.

One will likely be meat protein which may be made from vegetable matter.