"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > Forum Admin: Tech Support & Announcements
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2005, 04:08 PM   #1
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,356
"AMP"? What's that? etc.

A *member? contacted me re a recipe I posted to get clarification, because the word "amp" showed up in the post. Have also noticed other posts with the word "amp." What does that mean/why does it show up in recipes/posts in forums here, please? How can we(?) avoid/fix it?

*Member? I received an e-mail, I assumed was from a member asking for clarification on the recipe re the "amp" showing up. When I checked the member list, that person was not a listed member. I have no problem with helping people out, when they want to try the recipe & it's post is not clear. Wondering how they got my email address? Assumed, when you allow others to see your email address, that would be for the members here only to view - that would only appear in our profiles.

Thanks in advance for any help.

mish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 04:11 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire
 
middie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cleveland,Ohio USA
Posts: 16,263
Send a message via Yahoo to middie
i'm guessing "ample amounts" ?? i could be wrong but that's my guess.
middie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 04:19 PM   #3
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,356
No, it's not ample amounts. It appears in posts that have nothing to do with recipes as well. I first noticed it in a few of Crewk's posts. Guessing this a puter/site translation problem?

Admin. help please!
mish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 04:23 PM   #4
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
"amp" sometime shows up when an ampersand (sp?) is used. For instance salt & pepper might show up as salt &amp (or maybe it is amp&) pepper. unfortunately I don't think there is any way around this other than not using the ampersand.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 04:27 PM   #5
DC Grandma
 
Dove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA,California
Posts: 3,217
Thanks GB..I have noticed the same thing and passed it off as a typo.
__________________
May I always be the person my dog thinks I am.

Walk towards the Sunshine and the Shadows will fall behind you!
Dove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 04:28 PM   #6
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,356
Thanks GB. Noticed you typed out S & P and no "amp" showed up. Confused here. (Reminded me of the old hidden dos? commands used to appear, but never recall that sign). Not sure how this happens.
mish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 04:30 PM   #7
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,356
Hmm, noticed the amp didn't show up in my post to you re salt & pepper. Very odd.
mish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 04:42 PM   #8
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
Yeah sometimes it happens and sometime it doesn't. I am not exactly sure why. It could have something to do with the type or version of browser (just a guess here) or it could be something completely different. The ampersand is used as a command in some computer languages and this is the reason sometime when you use it things do not look right.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 06:02 PM   #9
Sous Chef
 
PolishedTopaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: East End of Long Island
Posts: 915
The plus sign works for me, any recipe I post will have S+P to taste.
__________________
Just because someone tells you that you can't do something doesn't mean you have to listen.
PolishedTopaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 06:10 PM   #10
Master Chef
 
SierraCook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sierra Valley, Northern California, USA
Posts: 5,580
I mostly have noticed it happening in older posts that were posted before the new format change.
__________________
Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.

Theodore Roosevelt
26th president of US (1858 - 1919)
SierraCook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 06:31 PM   #11
Master Chef
 
Michael in FtW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,592
I thought we beat this horse to death about a month ago ... but guess not ....

Sometimes when someone uses an ampersand (the "&" character) it shows up as "&amp" or something similar in the text.

There are 3 potential sources of the problem .. and they all have to do with "translation":

1 - Operating system
2 - Internet browser
3 - Default text editor

Someone suggested it was a problem before converstion to the new website software - but I think I've seen it since then.

Maybe we need to conduct some tests to narrow it down?

I'll try to find some "&amp" messages and PM the authors to find out what operating system and internet software they are running and will report back.
__________________
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you in trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so." - Mark Twain
Michael in FtW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 06:40 PM   #12
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael in FtW
I thought we beat this horse to death about a month ago ... but guess not ....

Sometimes when someone uses an ampersand (the "&" character) it shows up as "&amp" or something similar in the text.

There are 3 potential sources of the problem .. and they all have to do with "translation":

1 - Operating system
2 - Internet browser
3 - Default text editor

Someone suggested it was a problem before converstion to the new website software - but I think I've seen it since then.

Maybe we need to conduct some tests to narrow it down?

I'll try to find some "&amp" messages and PM the authors to find out what operating system and internet software they are running and will report back.
What a guy, what a guy. I somehow hoped you'd come to the rescue. (Know how good u are at this stuff.) I'm on windows xp, i.e. explorer, but same happened w my posts w windows 98 & now with firefox. I don't mind so much in chats, but spend time posting recipes for people & want them to be able to understand. I had to go back in my files & look up the recipes again to try to figure it out. Now wondering, should I repost the whole recipe? arrgh computers.
mish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 07:21 PM   #13
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Johnstown, Ohio
Posts: 2,525
I've used "amp" to describe something being turned up, i.e., amplifying something (going back to garage band days here). Whenever I use amp, it just means making something stronger. Otherwise, I have no idea about the ampersand glitch that I've seen here.
DampCharcoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 08:09 PM   #14
Master Chef
 
Michael in FtW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,592
Mish - it's not your fault ... in your last message you used a couple of ampersands and they were fine - they showed up as "&" and not "&amp" .....

I really starting to think this is a translation problem between Mac and Windoze ... but I don't have proof yet.

Naw - no need to repost your recipes ... let them figure it out!

Until we can figure out the problem ... just don't use the ampersand (&) character! Just type in the word ... "and".
__________________
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you in trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so." - Mark Twain
Michael in FtW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 09:16 PM   #15
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,356
Okie dokie. Thanks GB + Michael. Windoze Good one.
mish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 10:11 AM   #16
Everymom
 
Alix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 23,230
Michael, Thanks so much for doing all this. I know some of Rainee's posts do that. She is one you can ask about browser etc.
__________________
You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. Robin Williams
Alix
Alix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 06:53 AM   #17
Assistant Cook
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to Karridog
Quote:
Originally Posted by mish
A *member? contacted me re a recipe I posted to get clarification, because the word "amp" showed up in the post. Have also noticed other posts with the word "amp." What does that mean/why does it show up in recipes/posts in forums here, please? How can we(?) avoid/fix it?

*Member? I received an e-mail, I assumed was from a member asking for clarification on the recipe re the "amp" showing up. When I checked the member list, that person was not a listed member. I have no problem with helping people out, when they want to try the recipe & it's post is not clear. Wondering how they got my email address? Assumed, when you allow others to see your email address, that would be for the members here only to view - that would only appear in our profiles.

Thanks in advance for any help.
How can it be dangerous for anyone to have your e-mail address? I've been surfing the Internet since 1997 without a problem.
Karridog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 07:52 AM   #18
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karridog
How can it be dangerous for anyone to have your e-mail address? I've been surfing the Internet since 1997 without a problem.
Giving out your email address to strangers is a great way to get flooded with spam. People can also find out information about you with enough info like an email address. You would not want someone stealing your identity or finding out your address or anything like that.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.