"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > Forum Admin: Tech Support & Announcements
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2007, 10:29 AM   #1
Everymom
 
Alix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 23,230
Computer Add On crashing system?

Hey folks, got a weird question for any of you computer techies out there. Can anyone explain to me why a Flash 9b add on to Shockwave would crash my computer whenever I am on DC? Is it something to do with the Google Ads? I'm stumped. I have to disable that add-on everytime I want to cruise DC or I crash for sure. But ONLY DC.

__________________
You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. Robin Williams
Alix
Alix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 10:57 AM   #2
Head Chef
 
keltin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Down South in Alabama
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via AIM to keltin
What error message are you getting? Can you screenshot it or copy and paste the text of the message here.
keltin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 11:02 AM   #3
Everymom
 
Alix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 23,230
Well, I probably could, but I would have to enable the add-on and then wait for it to crash and try to make anything work before it all goes down.

Its something like Internet Explorer encountered a problem and needs to close. The following add on was running when this occurred. And then it give me a clickable link and an Advanced button and a Continue button. If I click on Advanced I can then Disable the particular Add On, reboot and away I go.

I have a few things to do on here before I kick it into gear for the day and I don't want to crash so I can't give you more than that. Does that help to identify the problem? Any idea why it ONLY happens on DC?
__________________
You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. Robin Williams
Alix
Alix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 11:13 AM   #4
Head Chef
 
keltin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Down South in Alabama
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via AIM to keltin
Did it look like this? Or did it say it could not find “flash.ocx”?

Problems with Flash9b.ocx are well know, but a TNT solution has not been found. Adobe hasn’t isolate the exact cause yet. There are several things to try to fix it.

The problem is usually with flash ads that pop up on sites, but it can also happen with any flash application such as YouTube and radio sites. Since you are only seeing it on DC, you probably haven’t bumped into many other sites with similar flash ads. Have you tried youtube lately?
keltin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 11:50 AM   #5
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Uncle Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Small Town Mississippi
Posts: 17,515
I've rebooted more times than Carter has Liver pills latlely. Are you saying that flash adds can/may cause crashes keltin?
__________________
There is only one Quality worse than Hardness of Heart, and that is Softness of Head.

Kool-Aid...Think Before You Drink
Uncle Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 11:56 AM   #6
Head Chef
 
keltin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Down South in Alabama
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via AIM to keltin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Bob
I've rebooted more times than Carter has Liver pills latlely. Are you saying that flash adds can/may cause crashes keltin?
Uncle Bob, this particular problem is with the latest version of Flash Player from Adobe which uses “flash9b.ocx”. The problem is, some flash applications such as ads, streaming video or audio, etc, can cause Internet Explorer to have a fatal error and shut itself down. It shouldn’t causes a hard reboot of the system though, it just kills Internet Explorer and all open IE windows/tabs and links. Is that what you’re seeing, IE closes itself with an error report?
keltin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 03:34 PM   #7
Everymom
 
Alix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 23,230
KELTIN, OMG, that is exactly what I see! And sometimes it just shuts down my system, and sometimes the whole dang thing goes kerflooey. (I have other issues with my comp tho, so I suspect those in the total crash).

So what you're telling me is that there is no fix at the moment and its because I allow pop ups on DC? I can disallow them, but then I don't see my PM pop ups. Small price to pay methinks. Thanks Keltin. I'll try that and see what happens.
__________________
You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. Robin Williams
Alix
Alix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 03:38 PM   #8
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
Some day you will give up IE and move over to Firefox and then you will wonder what took you so long
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 03:40 PM   #9
Everymom
 
Alix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 23,230
Next computer we'll do Firefox GB. I'm not messing with this one ANYMORE!
__________________
You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. Robin Williams
Alix
Alix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 03:41 PM   #10
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Katie H's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Posts: 16,110
Amen to Firefox!
__________________
"As a girl I had zero interest in the stove." - Julia Child
This is real inspiration. Look what Julia became!
Katie H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 03:42 PM   #11
DC's Angel
 
Buck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bardwell. Kentucky USA
Posts: 1,500
Firefox rox.
__________________
If we weren't meant to eat animals, then why are they made of meat?
Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 03:43 PM   #12
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
You would probably be able to hold off getting your next computer longer if you switched, but I hear you. I am not going to give up on you though
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 03:51 PM   #13
Everymom
 
Alix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 23,230
GB, you and KE of all people should know what a piece of poo my computer truly is. I have become quite expert at finding and fixing all manner of weird bugaboos, but I will confess that changing over to Firefox scares me. I'm afraid I will load it and then never be able to get on the internet again. I swear that my computer is actually animated and has an agenda of its own.
__________________
You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. Robin Williams
Alix
Alix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 03:56 PM   #14
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
I do know how bad your comp is. That is precisely why I push you SO hard to switch over. I know it would solve at least some of your problems.

Even if it did do what you fear (it wouldn't), you could always just uninstall it. And you don't even have to uninstall IE either. You can have them both on your computer and even use them both at the same time.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 04:02 PM   #15
Head Chef
 
keltin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Down South in Alabama
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via AIM to keltin
This problem affects FireFox as well since it is a problem with Adobe Flash player which is also compatible with FireFox.

There are several things to try. The fixes range from updating video and audio drivers for your system, uninstalling Adobe Flash and reinstalling, all the way up to hacking the registry. Poking around in the registry isn’t really recommended. It’s not hard to do, but it is easy to mess up.

One trick that might work is to go to the directory on your C drive called:

C:\WINDOWS\system32\Macromed\Flash

In that directory you will see a file called “flash9b.ocx”. Right click and hold on that file and drag it to the bottom of the list to make a copy of it. Once you have a copy of the file, rename the original as “flash9b.ocx.old” (add .old to the name). Now make a copy of the file “flash9.ocx” (notice this is an older file and doesn’t’ have the B in the name). Once you have made a copy of that file, rename that copy as “flash9b.ocx” (make sure to delete the orignal flash9b.ocx first so that you can rename it).

Doing this will make the system use the older, but stable flash9.ocx module instead of trying to use the flash9b.ocx module. This may or may not solve the problem. It depends on whether or not the flash upgrade added other DLLs for use.

A more stable fix that has worked for many is to edit the registry and look for the data entry that belongs to this module. In most of the cases of this problem, the data string is set to:

C:\WINDOWS\system32\Macromed\Flash\flash9b.ocx\2

Notice the \2 at the end indicating that a directory of 2 exists....and it does not. This looks to be an install error where the \2 was probably suppose to be a ,2 (comma 2) so that it was a runtime option for the module and not a directory. Deleting the \2 from that entry has fixed the problem for many others......but not 100% at this point.

You can find this entry by doing a search in regedit. Search for "flash9b.ocx".

If you want a super safe, but tedious attempt at fixing this. Completely uninstall Adobe Flash player. Reboot. Then download Flash 9 (not the latest 9b version) and install that. However, the uninstall doesn’t always clean the registry, so this can be hit or miss.

If you know how to locate and update drivers for your video and audio card, it is suggested that you do that as well.

As of now, Adobe doesn’t have a fix for this, and is having a problem duplicating it in house.
keltin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 04:35 PM   #16
Head Chef
 
keltin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Down South in Alabama
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via AIM to keltin
Quote:
Originally Posted by GB
I do know how bad your comp is. That is precisely why I push you SO hard to switch over. I know it would solve at least some of your problems.

Even if it did do what you fear (it wouldn't), you could always just uninstall it. And you don't even have to uninstall IE either. You can have them both on your computer and even use them both at the same time.
GB is right, I have both installed on my PC. I’ve fought with IE7 over many different issues that FireFox never had. After much tweaking, I’ve finally got IE7 stable, but I still switch to FireFox on occasion. The only thing I didn’t like about FireFox was its download manager, especially for streaming video. Perhaps there is a setting to make it automatic, but when I used it, it always gave me a download box and then I had to click where to put it........surely there is a way to get FireFox to stream video and music to WMP without having to download the file.

But you ought to download FireFox and give it a shot. If you don’t like it, you don't have to use it. It’s just a program that makes use of your established internet connection. The browser isn’t the connection at all, but is just a program that uses your connection. You can pick and choose what programs you want to use that connection without affecting the connection.

Now that IE7 has ripped off tabbed browsing from FireFox, I tend to use IE7 more often.
keltin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 04:42 PM   #17
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
A lot of sites still do not support IE 7 though. They may work, but they may not. I know Monster.com for instance is designed to work with IE 6 or less and certain features will not work on IE 7.

There is no one perfect solution yet unfortunately, but maybe some day.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 04:47 PM   #18
Head Chef
 
keltin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Down South in Alabama
Posts: 2,285
Send a message via AIM to keltin
Quote:
Originally Posted by GB
A lot of sites still do not support IE 7 though. They may work, but they may not. I know Monster.com for instance is designed to work with IE 6 or less and certain features will not work on IE 7.

There is no one perfect solution yet unfortunately, but maybe some day.
Really? Ive not heard of compatibility problems. I just went to monster.com and it came up. Although, a popup was blocked (but I could allow it by clicking on the popup blocker alert bar). What functions get hosed up with IE7 on that site?
keltin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2007, 04:51 PM   #19
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
Not necessarily things that you have access to. There are a lot of parts of the site that you need an employer account to access and they are very feature rich.

My wife and I used to work there and we constantly heard phone calls of reps telling clients that xyz would not work because they were using IE 7 and to switch to IE 6. The people who write the code do so with IE 6 in mind and do not do any testing at all on IE 7 thus if there is a problem then they will not even try to troubleshoot it.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.