"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > Forum Admin: Tech Support & Announcements
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2014, 03:08 PM   #21
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Kayelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: south central coast/California
Posts: 14,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakechef View Post
I'm wondering if it is an ad that's making it run slow for some, I use an ad blocker and have had no issues with load times.
I have ad blocker too, so that well may be the answer why neither of us have had problems?
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but rather by the moments that take our breath away.

Kayelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 03:16 PM   #22
Chef Extraordinaire
 
GotGarlic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southeastern Virginia
Posts: 24,659
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakechef View Post
I'm wondering if it is an ad that's making it run slow for some, I use an ad blocker and have had no issues with load times.
I use an ad blocker, too - two, in fact - and it's faster today for me than it has been lately.
__________________
Anyplace where people argue about food is a good place.
~ Anthony Bourdain, Parts Unknown, 2018
GotGarlic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 03:36 PM   #23
Chef Extraordinaire
 
taxlady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: near Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 24,180
Send a message via Skype™ to taxlady
It was running slow. I was playing a row of solitaire while I waited for pages to load. Faster today. Pictures are resizing properly today too.
__________________
May you live as long as you wish and love as long as you live.
Robert A. Heinlein
taxlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 03:47 PM   #24
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Addie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East Boston, MA
Posts: 22,365
Slow here also. But it is starting to speed up a little. I need to have Spike put in an ad blocker.
__________________
Illegitimi non carborundum!
I don't want my last words to be, "I wish I had spent more time doing housework"
Addie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 12:49 PM   #25
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,932
Hey guys. It's getting worse. What's going on? I don't have this issue on other sites.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 01:06 PM   #26
Head Chef
 
GLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Near Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,216
Strange. It's okay here. Has been all day. I just clicked around to various forums, and it's consistently about 2.5 second from click to loaded with AdBlocker in place.
__________________
"Kitchen duty is awarded only to those of manifest excellence..." - The Master, Dogen
GLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 02:24 PM   #27
Wine Guy
 
Steve Kroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 6,345
I've been following along on this thread, but haven't had any issues myself. In fact, it's been as speedy as ever. I just ran a timer on it and most pages seem to be coming up in less than 2 seconds. The last one came up in 6/10 of a second.

Could it be ad rendering that's causing the problem? I'm using ad blocker software, so I don't see ads. On another site I frequent, they recently had an issue with ads bringing the site to a screeching halt. The pages would start to load and then just sort of stop for a minute or more when it hit an embedded ad. The page would eventually come up, but it took forever. I don't know what was done to fix it, but my assumption is they tweaked or replaced the ad software.
Steve Kroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 02:53 PM   #28
Head Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,702
I haven't noticed any problems. I have AdBlocker, use Chrome, a 2 year old Dell laptop.
cave76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 04:07 PM   #29
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,932
I use Ad Blocker Plus on Firefox and have never seen an ad on this site since. If they are still mucking things up behind the scenes, I cannot say.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 05:34 PM   #30
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pacanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW PA
Posts: 18,751
I'm not a computer whiz but... I would think an advertisement or pop up blocker would use a computer's resources in order to work.
I can understand the statements made on how one never sees an ad because they use an ad blocker.
I cannot understand the statements made on how ad blockers speed up a page loading.

Anyway, sometimes a page takes a while to load and sometimes it doesn't.
And sometimes I still get that commercial trying to vocalize and sometimes I don't, but my blockers always turn it off after a few noisy words are spoken.
And sometimes I can see the Thanks button and sometimes it's a red X like I posted a pic of.
And of course I still get "compatability issue' and the page reloads every now and then.

DC is glitchy for me, too, but not to the point I would say it's slow.
Unless you are talking about the post count, lol.
__________________
Give us this day our daily bacon.
pacanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 05:51 PM   #31
Head Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,702
This isn't to be considered as a reason but just a SWAG (Seriously Wild Assed Guess)---- but sometimes when my computer runs/loads really slow (which isn't often) I find that Windows or something else is updating 'stuff' behind the scenes. I only find out later after all is updated or loaded.

Just a SWAG.
cave76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 07:51 PM   #32
Executive Chef
 
bakechef's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacanis View Post
I'm not a computer whiz but... I would think an advertisement or pop up blocker would use a computer's resources in order to work.
I can understand the statements made on how one never sees an ad because they use an ad blocker.
I cannot understand the statements made on how ad blockers speed up a page loading.

Anyway, sometimes a page takes a while to load and sometimes it doesn't.
And sometimes I still get that commercial trying to vocalize and sometimes I don't, but my blockers always turn it off after a few noisy words are spoken.
And sometimes I can see the Thanks button and sometimes it's a red X like I posted a pic of.
And of course I still get "compatability issue' and the page reloads every now and then.

DC is glitchy for me, too, but not to the point I would say it's slow.
Unless you are talking about the post count, lol.
For me with Chrome and Adblock plus, ads don't even get a chance to start, it's like they were never there.

I never get the red X on the Thanks button, and DC runs smoothly for me and never glitchy.

It's weird how people are either having issues or it's running perfectly for them.
__________________
I'm Bloggin'

https://bakingbetter.com
bakechef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 09:32 PM   #33
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pacanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW PA
Posts: 18,751
I don't understand how an ad can not even get a chance to start. How would the ad blocker know to block it if it didn't sense it lurking when the page was opened?
But that's besides the point. This has always been a forum that either runs smoothly or doesn't. Fortunately it has been OK for me lately. Well, fortunately for me ;^)
__________________
Give us this day our daily bacon.
pacanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 10:05 PM   #34
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Kayelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: south central coast/California
Posts: 14,706
Is there a reason why anyone should not have an Ad Blocker?

I'm just wondering why anyone is opposed to having it on their computer.

I know "wikki" doesn't hold a lot of weight for some but I found this interesting reading..
Ad filtering - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

BTW, DC is working perfectly for me too.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but rather by the moments that take our breath away.

Kayelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 07:33 AM   #35
Wine Guy
 
Steve Kroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 6,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakechef View Post
It's weird how people are either having issues or it's running perfectly for them.
If the problem were DC then everyone would be having issues. It sounds to me like the problem lies elsewhere.

In any given part of the country DC takes a different path to get from point A to point B. Sometimes it has to go through dozens of different routers to reach its final destination. If any one of those routers is having a problem, then that can slow things down.

A good analogy is driving from your home to another city. You can map the most direct route to get to your destination, but there might be obstacles that impede your progress - road construction, for example.

If you are on a Windows computer, just go to a command prompt and type in "TRACERT DISCUSSCOOKING.COM". It will display all of the different routers the request is sent through before it finally reaches DC... AND the amount of time it takes in milliseconds for each "hop".

Here's what it looks like for me:



14 hops for me and, as you can see, it goes through Rochester MN, Chicago, and NYC.
Steve Kroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 07:53 AM   #36
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pacanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW PA
Posts: 18,751
I just typed that in and it said DC is in my home...

__________________
Give us this day our daily bacon.
pacanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 07:53 AM   #37
Ogress Supreme
 
PrincessFiona60's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 38,542
That's where all the bacon is going...
__________________
“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.” - Albert Einstein
PrincessFiona60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 09:08 AM   #38
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,932
I really appreciate all the advice and suggestions you all have offered.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 11:50 AM   #39
Chef Extraordinaire
 
taxlady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: near Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 24,180
Send a message via Skype™ to taxlady
Thanks Steve. I tried it with and without the VPN. It actually took fewer hops with the VPN, but with only one try each way, it's statistically invalid. Funny, it showed the name and IP number of our firewall computer the first time, but not with the VPN.
__________________
May you live as long as you wish and love as long as you live.
Robert A. Heinlein
taxlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 05:30 PM   #40
Executive Chef
 
bakechef's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Kroll View Post
If the problem were DC then everyone would be having issues. It sounds to me like the problem lies elsewhere.

In any given part of the country DC takes a different path to get from point A to point B. Sometimes it has to go through dozens of different routers to reach its final destination. If any one of those routers is having a problem, then that can slow things down.

A good analogy is driving from your home to another city. You can map the most direct route to get to your destination, but there might be obstacles that impede your progress - road construction, for example.

If you are on a Windows computer, just go to a command prompt and type in "TRACERT DISCUSSCOOKING.COM". It will display all of the different routers the request is sent through before it finally reaches DC... AND the amount of time it takes in milliseconds for each "hop".

Here's what it looks like for me:



14 hops for me and, as you can see, it goes through Rochester MN, Chicago, and NYC.
Yes, the ISP could be the problem in some cases, often they are routed poorly which can slow stuff down because it ups the chances that you'll hit a slow server or switch somewhere.

I'd be interested in seeing people's ping times.
__________________
I'm Bloggin'

https://bakingbetter.com
bakechef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.