"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > Forum Admin: Tech Support & Announcements
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2014, 02:52 PM   #1
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,935
No Icons, Just Text

All the icons that normally appear in the forum listings have disappeared and have been replaced with the descriptive text. It makes for a busy page.

Has this happened to anyone else?

Is it something I did inadvertently or is there a site issue?

This appears to be a V 1.0 issue. Looks normal in V 3.0
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 03:06 PM   #2
Head Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,702
Do you mean under ""Other Social Communities Knowledge"? That's at the bottom of this page but I have icons.

If that's not where you mean........
cave76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 03:14 PM   #3
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,935
NO! e.g. in this thread, where you see a green circle under your name indicating you are online, I see "cave76 is online now" The same is true for all the icons in the reply boxes and on the forum page.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 03:22 PM   #4
Executive Chef
 
salt and pepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montana
Posts: 2,713
I got the bug too, just red x's. I wonder if it's internet explorer?
salt and pepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 03:28 PM   #5
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Dawgluver's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25,016
On the iPad, it's business as usual. I'll fire up the Dell PC and take a look on that. (Not that I can offer any tech assistance...)
__________________
She who dies with the most toys, wins.
Dawgluver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 03:35 PM   #6
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,935
I'm using Firefox.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 03:43 PM   #7
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Dawgluver's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25,016
OK, I'm on the PC, using Firefox. Everyone has green dots, no text. The other icons are still just icons.

Wonder if it is, as S&P suggested, related to the new Windows bug? Hopefully Janet can take a look.
__________________
She who dies with the most toys, wins.
Dawgluver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 03:56 PM   #8
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,935
This is what it looks like. The problem also exists on the forum listing page.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DC No Icons.jpg
Views:	202
Size:	47.9 KB
ID:	21201  
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 04:12 PM   #9
Wine Guy
 
Steve Kroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 6,345
Andy,

Maybe this will shed some light.

It looks like you are using the "Discuss Cooking v1.0" style from the style chooser at the bottom of the page. I'm using "Discuss Cooking v3.0" and I see all the icons. However, when I switch to 1.0, the icons disappear as you describe.

I am 99% certain there is no "Windows Bug" at play here. It looks more like a problem where the DC website is simply missing some of its image content.
Steve Kroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 04:44 PM   #10
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,935
Steve, I agree. Joey is using IE and I'm using Firefox. We both have versions of the problem.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 04:56 PM   #11
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Katie H's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Posts: 16,108
I'm using Firefox and V 1.0. Business as usual.
__________________
"As a girl I had zero interest in the stove." - Julia Child
This is real inspiration. Look what Julia became!
Katie H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 05:20 PM   #12
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Zhizara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 12,456
Nothing strange here either, Andy. Good luck finding the gliitch. Let us know, OK?
__________________

If you can't see the bright side of life, polish the dull side.
Zhizara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 07:24 PM   #13
Master Chef
 
Mad Cook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: North West England
Posts: 5,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by salt and pepper View Post
I got the bug too, just red x's. I wonder if it's internet explorer?
I'm IE but haven't got the problem
__________________
Don’t look for the light at the end of the tunnel. Stomp along and switch the bl**dy thing on yourself.
Mad Cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 10:08 PM   #14
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pacanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW PA
Posts: 18,751
no problemo.
__________________
Give us this day our daily bacon.
pacanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 10:12 PM   #15
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Cooking Goddess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Body in MA ~ Heart in OH
Posts: 13,963
I use Chrome and have DC set to v3.0 and everything looks normal. I switched to v1.0 and got a different look: all of the "buttons" at the bottom of each post box or to report/flag a post has the funky pastel box that looks like the " Insert Image" button just above the compose box. Needless to say, back to v3.0 I scurried!
__________________
“You shouldn’t wait to be senile before you become eccentric.”— Helene Truter

"Remember, all that matters in the end is getting the meal on the table." ~ Julia Child
Cooking Goddess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 10:58 AM   #16
Executive Chef
 
Roll_Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Southeast US
Posts: 4,388
Maybe you are a new moderator and no one has informed you yet........
Roll_Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2014, 11:00 AM   #17
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooking Goddess View Post
I use Chrome and have DC set to v3.0 and everything looks normal. I switched to v1.0 and got a different look: all of the "buttons" at the bottom of each post box or to report/flag a post has the funky pastel box that looks like the " Insert Image" button just above the compose box. Needless to say, back to v3.0 I scurried!

The problem is limited to v1.0
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 10:04 AM   #18
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,935
I'm back on v1.0. The wizards at tech support have solved the problem. Thanks guys!
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 10:55 AM   #19
Chef Extraordinaire
 
taxlady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: near Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 24,196
Send a message via Skype™ to taxlady
Some folks have mentioned using Internet Explorer. Do you realize that there is currently a serious security flaw? MS is working on it, but hasn't issued a patch yet. It affects versions 6 - 11.

Internet Explorer bug: Microsoft issues security tips | Detroit Free Press | freep.com

Internet Explorer bug: Homeland security warns Americans of IE bug, what to do - San Diego Top News | Examiner.com
__________________
May you live as long as you wish and love as long as you live.
Robert A. Heinlein
taxlady is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 02:08 PM   #20
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Addie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East Boston, MA
Posts: 22,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawgluver View Post
OK, I'm on the PC, using Firefox. Everyone has green dots, no text. The other icons are still just icons.

Wonder if it is, as S&P suggested, related to the new Windows bug? Hopefully Janet can take a look.
Same here. Everything is normal.
__________________
Illegitimi non carborundum!
I don't want my last words to be, "I wish I had spent more time doing housework"
Addie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.