"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > Forum Admin: Tech Support & Announcements
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2008, 09:22 PM   #1
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,936
Exclamation Spell Checker Function

Just a reminder to all members that there is a spell checking function available in the Reply message box. It's in the upper right corner of the message box.

All you have to do is click on the Check Spelling icon after typing a reply and it will review your reply for errors and suggest corrections just as in other software such as MS Word and others. After spell checking, you can post the reply in the same manner.

Give it a try. You too can have posts free of those pesky spelling errors that plague our posts.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 09:25 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pdswife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Mazatlan
Posts: 20,334
Send a message via AIM to pdswife Send a message via MSN to pdswife Send a message via Yahoo to pdswife
oh wow! I never knew that! NEAT!!!!!
__________________
Love the life you live!
pdswife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 09:27 PM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pacanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW PA
Posts: 18,751
Thancks!
__________________
Give us this day our daily bacon.
pacanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 09:35 PM   #4
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacanis View Post
Thancks!

Ummm. Did I mention it's available right now?
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 10:09 PM   #5
Master Chef
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cicero, IL
Posts: 5,093
I didn't know there was anything to click on, mine just underlines in red words that I misspeel, LOL. I did notice though that a lot of cooking terms don't seem to show up as understood by the program. Like au gratin or thai for example, but I just click on 'add to dictionary' and it recognizes them.
Just have to make sure I actually spelled it right before doing that! ;) jalepeno is one that I have not figured out how to spell right the first time ever, and unless I get it very close the first time, the program can't even give me a suggestion on spelling.
Spelled as above I get suggestions such as dependable, dependably, penologist, penologies, and penology's.
Was there something I turned on that made it available automatically?
Maverick2272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 10:10 PM   #6
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Collier County, Fl.
Posts: 4,198
I never noticed that either. Are you implying something?
quicksilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 10:10 PM   #7
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
Are you using Firefox Mav?
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 10:12 PM   #8
Master Chef
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cicero, IL
Posts: 5,093
Yup! Is that what did it? Its Firefox's spell checker and not DC's?
Maverick2272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 10:13 PM   #9
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
Yeah Firefox is smart enough to have a spell checker built in unlike inferior browsers
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 10:15 PM   #10
Master Chef
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cicero, IL
Posts: 5,093
Well that is good, cause in the upper right hand corner of my reply box is a button to switch editor modes, I can't find a button to spell check anywhere.
Maverick2272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 10:17 PM   #11
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
Yeah Firefox users will not see that option since they don't need it.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 10:36 PM   #12
Master Chef
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cicero, IL
Posts: 5,093
Cooooooooool.
Maverick2272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 08:02 AM   #13
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,936
Seems to me Firefox is restricting your freedom to use any spell checker and forcing their's down your throat. Sonds very Microsoft-like to me.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 08:06 AM   #14
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
You would think so, but Firefox gives you the option to use their superior spell checker or turn it off so that you are able to use other spell checkers if you so desire. Of course no Firefox user would ever want to turn it off since it works so well and is so easy to use.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 02:34 PM   #15
Chef Extraordinaire
 
babetoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: escondido, calif. near san diego
Posts: 14,341
thanks a bunch, i can sure use this.

babe
__________________
"life isn't about how to survive the storm but how to dance in the rain"
babetoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 08:06 PM   #16
Sous Chef
 
attie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mackay Queensland Australia
Posts: 719
Quote:
Originally Posted by GB View Post
You would think so, but Firefox gives you the option to use their superior spell checker or turn it off so that you are able to use other spell checkers if you so desire. Of course no Firefox user would ever want to turn it off since it works so well and is so easy to use.
I use firefox and, as you say GB, it underlines the spelling mistakes but I use the spell check from my Google tool bar which does not pick some of them up. I use Google mainly because I was using it before I went to firefox and it's become habit and [B] We spell quiet a few words differently than you do in the US and Google give the AU version

Having said that I have never tried firefox spell check to see if it would give me the Australian spelling.
__________________
https://cockeyed.com/inside/vegemite/vegemite.html
We are happy little Vegemites, happy as can be
attie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 08:09 PM   #17
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
I believe you can choose different libraries for the Firefox spell checker so AU would be an option I am sure.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 08:25 PM   #18
Chef Extraordinaire
 
babetoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: escondido, calif. near san diego
Posts: 14,341
when do i click on spell check before or after typing message? when i do it with the message typed but not posted, it goes to the thread about spell check

help

babe
__________________
"life isn't about how to survive the storm but how to dance in the rain"
babetoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 08:48 PM   #19
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 46,936
After typing your reply, you should click on the spell check icon. That's the icon with the ABC and the check mark. Then a little window will appear with the first misspelled word and offer you the opportunity to fix it. That repeats until all the misspelled words are corrected. If there are no spelling errors, a window pops up stating that spell check is complete.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 09:57 PM   #20
Sous Chef
 
attie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mackay Queensland Australia
Posts: 719
Quote:
Originally Posted by GB View Post
I believe you can choose different libraries for the Firefox spell checker so AU would be an option I am sure.
Just checked, you are right GB, just need to go to "add dictionary" and install it
__________________
https://cockeyed.com/inside/vegemite/vegemite.html
We are happy little Vegemites, happy as can be
attie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.