"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > Forum Admin: Tech Support & Announcements
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2008, 09:36 PM   #1
Master Chef
 
Michael in FtW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,592
Text color doesn't work

I have gotten a couple of PMs from people having a problem with the "Text Color" box in the editor not working since our last software upgrade.

If you are having problems ... what Web Browser and version are you using?

If you're not having problems ... what Web Browser and version are you using?

This info will help our site techs isolate the problem and find a fix for it ... I hope.

__________________
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you in trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so." - Mark Twain
Michael in FtW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 09:43 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pacanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW PA
Posts: 18,751
Testing.... 1, 2, 3....
IE7. Looks like it's going to show up red, but I've never changed the color before, so we'll see.
__________________
Give us this day our daily bacon.
pacanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 09:55 PM   #3
Master Chef
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: E. Pa.
Posts: 8,281
Testing in IE 6 Windows XP Home
LadyCook61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 10:00 PM   #4
Master Chef
 
Michael in FtW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,592
Oops! Also - what operating system are you using?

I'm using IE6 under Win 98SE - and I lost the ability to change text color in the last upgrade.
__________________
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you in trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so." - Mark Twain
Michael in FtW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 12:49 AM   #5
Hospitality Queen
 
jkath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 11,448
WHOA!!!
Michael, did you wave your magic wand? I've been colorless since the last update and now I'm inTECHNICOLOR!
Actually, I hadn't had the color abilities either, but I just figured something out. I DO have the color choice on the "quick reply", but once I hit "go advanced", the color option is gone.

BTW, I'm using firefox & WinXP
__________________
Come visit my foodie blog: www.SockmonkeysKitchen.com
This week's topic: Pinterest and Potatoes
jkath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 04:07 AM   #6
Traveling Welcome Wagon
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Somewhere, US
Posts: 15,716
The color feature still doesn't work for me. I use IE (whatever the latest version is). I have to do my colors the old fashioned way! LOL

Barbara
Barbara L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 05:12 AM   #7
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pacanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW PA
Posts: 18,751
XP Pro, Michael.
And to add, they aren't working in the full feature reply for me either, just quick reply.
And you folks using IE6 have got to upgrade to 7. The "tabbed windows" is a great feature.
__________________
Give us this day our daily bacon.
pacanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 06:37 AM   #8
Head Chef
 
Adillo303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Haledon, New Jersey
Posts: 1,072
Send a message via AIM to Adillo303
Color is working - IE7 XPP SP2
__________________
One difference between a cook and a chef is that the cook mows the lawn, while the bread is rising.
Adillo303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 06:38 AM   #9
Head Chef
 
Adillo303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Haledon, New Jersey
Posts: 1,072
Send a message via AIM to Adillo303
No color available on advanced reply - Same computer / OS as prior post

AC
__________________
One difference between a cook and a chef is that the cook mows the lawn, while the bread is rising.
Adillo303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 06:41 AM   #10
Head Chef
 
Adillo303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Haledon, New Jersey
Posts: 1,072
Send a message via AIM to Adillo303
Same results in Firefox - XPP SP2
__________________
One difference between a cook and a chef is that the cook mows the lawn, while the bread is rising.
Adillo303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 06:42 AM   #11
Head Chef
 
Adillo303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Haledon, New Jersey
Posts: 1,072
Send a message via AIM to Adillo303
Firefox XPP sp2 no color in advanced Firefox is 3.0.1
__________________
One difference between a cook and a chef is that the cook mows the lawn, while the bread is rising.
Adillo303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 06:45 AM   #12
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 3,270
I use IE7 in XP and colour works in QR. I also have the WYSIWYG mode on.
__________________
Too many restaurants, not enough time...
Bilby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 06:47 AM   #13
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 3,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilby View Post
I use IE7 in XP and colour works in QR. I also have the WYSIWYG mode on.
But it doesn't function properly in Advanced mode. When you hit the drop down arrow, the A and arrow boxes turn blue and a little white box appears over the bullets icon as if the drop down box is trying to load but there is nothing in there to load.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Too many restaurants, not enough time...
Bilby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 07:22 AM   #14
Chief Eating Officer
 
GB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA,Massachusetts
Posts: 25,509
That is exactly what I get using both Firefox and IE on XP Pro.
__________________
You know you can't resist clicking
this link. Your eyes will thank you. VISUAL BLISS
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 07:36 AM   #15
Chef Extraordinaire
 
pacanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW PA
Posts: 18,751
Ditto. I get the white box, too.
__________________
Give us this day our daily bacon.
pacanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 07:42 AM   #16
Master Chef
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: E. Pa.
Posts: 8,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacanis View Post
XP Pro, Michael.
And to add, they aren't working in the full feature reply for me either, just quick reply.
And you folks using IE6 have got to upgrade to 7. The "tabbed windows" is a great feature.
I have IE 7 on my desktop machine , I really don't care for the tabbed feature. I guess I am used to the old way.
LadyCook61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 07:42 AM   #17
Master Chef
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: E. Pa.
Posts: 8,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilby View Post
But it doesn't function properly in Advanced mode. When you hit the drop down arrow, the A and arrow boxes turn blue and a little white box appears over the bullets icon as if the drop down box is trying to load but there is nothing in there to load.

Hope that helps.
I have the same problem with the advanced mode.
LadyCook61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 07:56 AM   #18
Senior Cook
 
marigeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: East Central Kansas
Posts: 499
Testing 1 2 3
marigeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 09:12 AM   #19
Head Chef
 
Mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,810
I have IE7 with widows XP as well but Doesn't seem to work for me either!
__________________
www.Mamas-Southern-Cooking.com
Mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 10:57 AM   #20
Chef Extraordinaire
 
kitchenelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 19,725
Send a message via MSN to kitchenelf
Color is now working!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
kitchenelf

"Count yourself...you ain't so many" - quote from Buck's Daddy
kitchenelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.