The whole nut thing is driving me nuts

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SizzlininIN

Master Chef
Ok....I've heard the benefits of eating nuts and that they are healthy for you and so on and so on. The thing is that when I look at the labels those lil buggers are full of fat. If I'm workinng on keeping my fat grams around 25 a day and a serving of nuts is 20....what the heck.
I'm just not convinced this is a healthy snack like a lot of the experts have been advising to snack on.
Someone enlighten me please or tell me about some nut product out there that isn't fattening.

OK, from what I understand, the fat in nuts is GOOD fat. Its the stuff you should be having to improve your overall cholesterol. It ups the HDL levels and lowers LDL levels.
Keep in mind, I'm not an expert, just repeating what I've been told. I'll see if I can go find some research to back that claim up.

I think that what is more important than the fat grams in the nuts is the caloric content. Are you trying to maintain weight or are you just trying to keep fats low?

Both Alix and I know that they are high in calories too....so I don't get it. So I guess if its just to deal with cholesterold then I'm okay I'll just stick to my oatmeal for that.
Any information you can find will be helpful I'm not having any luck finding anything that tells me how something so high in fat and calories is good for a person trying to lose weight.

Nuts are very good for you - I believe that all fruits, veggies, nuts that are in their original form are here for a reason - to be eaten :)
I have about ¼ cup of nuts each day, usually pecans or almonds, and it hasn't caused any change in my weight. Plus, it keeps my stomach from wanting straight sugar.

(I particularly like chopped pecans over cottage cheese. It sounds weird, I know, but it's really a nice way to start the day)