Does Searing Meat Really Lock in Juices? Video

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I cringed when I first saw the post because I thought it was going to say the opposite.

I cringed when I first saw the post because I thought it was going to say the opposite.

:LOL:

I subscribe to SciShow's YouTube channel, so I get notifications by email of new videos. I had the same reaction when I saw the subject line on the email notification.

I'm a newb when it comes to daring to fry a steak in a CSI. I'm concerned it won't cook up as good as broiling or BBQ'ing. I broil or BBQ them. Also, don't you have to have a pretty thick steak to warrant searing it in the first place before putting it in the oven to finish?

I can probably cook up a delicious thin steak in my CSI if I do it just right. I simply can't afford thicker $8 steaks on a regular basis to experiment. :LOL:

Last edited:
I'm a newb when it comes to daring to fry a steak in a CSI. I'm concerned it won't cook up as good as broiling or BBQ'ing. I broil or BBQ them. Also, don't you have to have a pretty thick steak to warrant searing it in the first place before putting it in the oven to finish?

I can probably cook up a delicious thin steak in my CSI if I do it just right. I simply can't afford thicker $8 steaks on a regular basis to experiment. :LOL:

I don't bother finishing steaks in the oven. I just fry 'em up on a stainless steel skillet, or sometimes on an enamelled cast iron pan. What is a "CSI"?

I don't bother finishing steaks in the oven. I just fry 'em up on a stainless steel skillet, or sometimes on an enamelled cast iron pan. What is a "CSI"?