How to tell when chicken is ready

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mitchell

Assistant Cook
I am a novice in the kitchen but really enjoy it.
When sauteing chicken breasts I find I really have to keep cutting into them to see if they are cooked through.
I can definitely get them to come out okay - not too dry but the presentation is awful as I have multiple cuts .
Any suggestions would be welcome.
Thanks!

A meat thermometer is my only suggestion. That will create a clean and simple hole that you can hide by flipping the breast over for presentation ... I've had the same problem and have resorted to presentation by slicing into medallions and fanning for my diners when I don't have the thermometer handy ...

Would you say just take it out when it says 170?
Sometimes it still seems too pink in some areas when it gets to the rught temp.

Hi, Mitchell. Welcome to Discuss Cooking.

Cutting the chicken to see if it's done allows juices to escape, contributing to dry chicken.

As JMediger suggested, an instant read thermometer is the way to go. Your chicken must reach a minimum internal temperature of 161F to ensure salmonella is killed off. Remove the cooked chicken and allow it to rest for 5-10 minutes before cutting into it.

Try to notice how the chicken feels during the cooking process. As it cooks, it will become more firm. With experience, you will be able to judge when the chicken is done by how firm it feels.

Cutting the chicken to see if it's done allows juices to escape, contributing to dry chicken.

As JMediger suggested, an instant read thermometer is the way to go. Your chicken must reach a minimum internal temperature of 161F to ensure salmonella is killed off. Remove the cooked chicken and allow it to rest for 5-10 minutes before cutting into it.