The Chemistry Of Cooking...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

black chef

Senior Cook
anybody have any answers to "why" certain things happen when you cook?

i'm an engineer, but a want to be world class chef in my modest one bedroom apt., but my mind is always working... wondering why & how certain reactions affect taste, etc.

anybody got any knowledge to share?

Did you have a specific question or did you want some reference books to read?

Start with Harold McGee's On Food and Cooking, It's considered the bible of the food science geek.

Another great reference is What Einstein Told His Cook by Robert L. Wolke.

But to answer your question...Yes. This website is filled with the knowledge you seek. Just ask specific questions and you will get specific answers.

I have found that Alton Brown on Food TV does a good job of explaining how different ingredients/techniques affect the way a meal turns out.

Tom

Harold McGee's book is the Bible! as Andy M. said. On Food and Cooking; the Science and Lore of the Kitchen. It has been in every restaurant kitchen I've cooked in and I still refer to it when I need to know how something does what it does.

A lot depends on what you already know ... but if you are starting from square one:

Joy of Cooking (either the 1975 or 1995 edition) by Irma S. Rombauer and Marion Rombauer Becker should be in every cooks collection. Not just for the recipes - but for the "about" information on the things we cook.

Cookwise: The Secrets of Cooking Revealed by Shirley Corriher - a noted food scientist explains how things work and gives recipes that use those principles. A good introduction to food chemistry and applying those lessons to cooking.

On Food and Cooking: The Science and Lore of the Kitchen (Revised Edition) by Harold McGee starts to get you into the real chemistry of food.