What does "one cup" mean?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

redrabbit

Assistant Cook
I am a COMPLETE newbie at cooking really, but always enjoyed the small amount of cooking I've done.

Anyway, I have a recipe for chocolate fudge brownies. They sound good, and I think I could do it quite well.

However, it uses "cup" measurements.

i.e.:

1 cup sugar
1/4 cup butter
2/3 cup cocoa

How am I supposed to know if that is one of my smaller cups, or bigger ones, and how to measure it correctly. Any clues?

Link to the recipe: Fudgy Brownies Recipes at Cooking.com

measuring%20cups%20spoons.JPG

Get yourself some of these - they have the measures printed right on them.

The 'cup' refers to a measuring cup, not a coffee or tea cup. A measuring cup holds 8 fluid ounces (a measure of volume).

A measuring cup is equal to 16 tablespoons - measuring tablespoons, not silverware.

Any recipe will use these measurements all the time. You will need a set of measuring cups and measuring spoons if you plan on baking.

First, welcome, redrabbit. You'll enjoy DC and will learn a lot about cooking.

As for the measuring cup "thing," you will need to purchase a set of measuring cups and measuring spoons, too, if you don't have any. You should also purchase a "liquid" measuring cup. That is a measuring cup with a pouring spout. The other measuring cups don't have spouts. They have uniform rims all around. Most hardware stores, discount stores, dollar stores, grocery stores, and places like Wal-Mart and K-Mart will also have them.

When you measure dry ingredients such as flour and sugar, the ingredients need to be leveled off in the cup. That's why the rims are flat and uniform. Just take the flat edge of a table knife and scrape it across the top to remove any of the ingredient that is above the top of the cup.