Grilled Burgers Don't Taste Grilled.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mborner

Assistant Cook
I've been a burger connoisseur all my life. I've had some mighty tasty burgers in my 50 years. I believe there are rules that should never be broken when preparing a great burger. I prefer my burgers grilled and I've experienced some great grilled burgers in my life. As much as I love a good burger, I just cannot seem to make a great one, myself. I've been grilling burgers for 30+ years and the closest I can get to great is just "okay". When I go out for a grilled burger they always have this wonderful, very smoky grilled flavor. It's hard to describe, really. I guess the best way to describe what my homemade burgers lack is that although they're grilled, they taste more like they're just heated up on a grill. They don't have that very important "missing" smokiness to them. When they're grilling they smell absolutely divine. They should taste like they smell but they don't.
So, here's where I've been to try to conquer the perfect burger.

1. I've tried gas and charcoal, no difference.
2. I've tried charcoal with fuel or without fuel.
3. The last grill I had had been seasoned for 10 years.
4. The grill had everything you could think of cooked on it.
5. Burgers only get flipped once.
6. I only use ground chuck.
7. I've tried ground brisket and a mixture of both.
8. I've had the supermarket grind chuck roast right in front of me.
9. I use salt and pepper only, and only after the meat hits the grill.
10. I barely knead the meat. I can still see the grinding in the beef patty.
11. I’ve cooked them from medium to burnt to a crisp.
12. I've tried adding a drop of liquid smoke to the meat (gross)
13. I've tried brushing vegetable oil and olive oil on the meat before grilling.
14. I've tried buying premium beef from a butcher.