Cooking Boston Butt Question...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MrBob001

Assistant Cook
forgive my ignorance..I am new to this forum..usually participate in medical forums since I practice medicine for a living...Here is my very basic question..I am going to be cooking 6 boston butts (7-9 lbs each) on a Southern Grill designed for cooking pigs "pig pickin'" (those of you that live in the Carolinas know exactly what kind I am talking about...

What temp and how long for the butts..I have cooked many whole pigs but never the butts and have no idea about how long I should expect to cook these slow cooked babies.....so I can plan when to be done of course....any help here?
MrBob001

Mr Bob, barely understand your question cos I am a long, long way away from the Carolinas but I am sure there are heaps of people who will be able to give you some of the answers you seek. I just came on to say, "Welcome"! :)

Welcome to DC Mr. Bob....

225*--250* to an internal temp. of 190*+.... Use a thermometer not a clock to determine doneness. 1 to 1/5 hours per pound would be a good ball park time to plan your day!

Enjoy and Have Fun!!!

Welcome to DC Mr. Bob....

225*--250* to an internal temp. of 190*+.... Use a thermometer not a clock to determine doneness. 1 to 1/5 hours per pound would be a good ball park time to plan your day!

Enjoy and Have Fun!!!

thanks....U.B. That was what I was looking for...