Grilled Salmon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

iislander

Assistant Cook
Newbie here. Have never grilled salmon fillets can someone give me some pointers on this subject. Thanks

You don't want a fire as hot as you'd do for steak. Season your salmon, and place, flesh-side down, onto the grill, and LEAVE IT ALONE for a few minutes to develop a sear and naturally release from the grill. Using a thin metal spatula, CAREFULLY flip the salmon over and finish cooking. Remember, salmon isn't really a dense fish, so it will fall apart if you mishandle it.

I absolutely love grilling salmon. I usually brine or marrinade the fillet for about 30min prior to grilling. I also use one of those fish basket thingies - makes flipping very easy. I definitely recommend those for anyone who's grilling fish often*.

I also prefer my salmon more on the rare side than the well side so cooking time is short, only 3 to 5 min a side tops depending on your fire. A few wood chips on the coals help too, it's surprizing how much smoke flavor is added in just those couple of minutes over the fire.

*A friend of ours purchased one of those fish shaped ones from Williams & Sonoma for us for a gift and we loved it. The only problem was that it only held a small fish. So we bought a bigger but cheapie one from BB&B. The W&S one's no-stick finish was way better than the cheapie.

I normally grill salmon on my george foreman grill. I think any grill will work provided you hit the salmon fillets with some oil. Also don't fidget with the fillets right away. Let the salmon realease some of it's own fat on the grill and then it will flip easily without flaking off. I think a lot of people try to poke their spatula's at the meat very early and the result is a broken or flaked fish fillet.