Question about smoking temperature (safety related)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rocklobster

Master Chef
My sister gave me a Mini Chief smoker she never used. I had some ribs in it a while ago and now they are wrapped on the bbq at 225....anyhoo, I've never used one of these Mini Chiefs and soon discovered that they don't reach a very high temp(around 165) and are really just designed to impart smoke flavor to your meats, cheeses, etc....my question is this, how safe would it be to leave your meat for 2 or 3 hours at that that low temp? As a long time cook, I would be a bit leery, but does the smoke add extra prevention against bacteria build up? I'm wondering if 2 or 3 hours at 165ish is enough time to create dangerous levels of bacteria, or once it gets exposed to 225 or higher for a few more hours, that will take care of any potential problems. Just wondering....

That's an interesting question and I'd like to know about that as well. I occasionally will cut a steak into strips and marinate it in mesquite or something similar, then lay it on a rack in the oven (on a cookie sheet) and let it cook for about 45 - 55 minutes at 200°. I understand cooking the meat for another 45 minutes to an hour would give me beef jerky, but I've never done that. I was wondering how safe the meat was as well, although I haven't died from this yet.

The "danger zone," where microbes reproduce fastest, is between 41 and 140 degrees F. So restaurants can cook foods and then serve, for example, in chafing dishes that maintain the temperature above 140.