Ribs, where do I start?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Deeblock

Assistant Cook
Hello,

I love barbecuing and grilling, but I am a novice when it comes to most things. I'm at the point where I can grill better than most people I know, but I'm just not where I want to be at.

My question, is about something that has been bothering me for a very long time. I've attempted to make ribs once, and it was a complete disaster. So, I'm putting that experience behind me and I'm looking to move on.

I basically need to know everything about barbecuing, smoking, grilling, and whatever else you can do with ribs. I love ribs, and nothing would make me happier than to make them perfectly.

I know this is asking a lot, but I will be eternally in your debt. Thanks!

First, you need to decide on what type of rib you’re looking to do as this can change the methodology. Do you want to do beef back ribs, short ribs, or pork spare ribs, back ribs, riblets, country style ribs?

I’d imagine you’re thinking Pork Spare ribs or Pork Back ribs (Baby Back Ribs)?

What kind of equipment do you have to work with? Charcoal grill, smoker, gas grill? What size is the grill?

There are many, many, MANY ways to make successful ribs, so with a little more info (what rib meat, what equipment, etc), we’ll get started! :chef:

Thanks for the response guys.

I'm very new at this and don't have any questions just yet, because I haven't done enough to know what to ask. That being said, I will answer a few of the questions you asked.

Types of ribs: beef back ribs, short ribs, or pork spare ribs, back ribs, riblets, country style ribs.

I was not aware there were so many, but I assume the ones I'm looking for are Baby Back and Pork Spare ribs.

What kind of equipment do you have to work with? Charcoal grill, smoker, gas grill? What size is the grill?