Chimney tree?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jammero

Assistant Cook
I'm just learning how to use a DO and have heard about "Chimney tree's" for starting new coals. Would someone explain to me what one is and possibly show a photo?

A second question......I have a deep 12" cast iron with legs but also have a deep 10" aluminum without legs or a lid we got at a yard sale. We have used the 10" for years in the oven to cook roast and such using a regular pot lid.
The question is : Is the 10" used in the kitchen alone or can it be useds with coals in camp. If so, do you use the same amount of coals as with a cast iron, and can I use a round cast iron griddle that, I already have, for a lid. (It has a lip around it that would contain the coals and ashes.

Jammero, I think this is what you are referring to.

Just do a Google search for "charcoal chimney" and you will find sources for these items. Although, most home centers that sell grills, etc. should have them, too.

Oh, Uncle Bob, we need you for the rest of Jammero's questions.

Thank's Katie E, that link showed me what I need to know about the "Chimney". I think I can fabricate something that will work fairly well. Hopefully Uncle Bob can help me with the rest.

I would continue to use the 10 in aluminum pot as you have been. A round griddle would not give you a tight enough seal to use it with charcoal/wood coals to create a true Dutch Oven effect.

Jammero, as the others have said the 10” without legs and lids is more suited to the oven.