I Need Pecan Pie Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Andy M.

Certified Pretend Chef
I've been making this pecan pie recipe for 5-6 years. It's one I developed by analyzing many recipes. It is a delicious pie and my current favorite.

I had two problems with the pie this year (I made it Wednesday for Thanksgiving and just ate the last piece for breakfast) that concern me and I don't know how to deal with them.

1. This year I used a Pillsbury pie crust. I do that from time to time when I don't feel like making my own. This is the first time ever that the crust stuct to the glass pie plate in places. It's not because the filling leaked and stuck to the pan. There was no leakage.

2. In traditional pecan pie fashion, I arrange pecan nut halves on the surface of the pie. This year, there was a slight burned taste to some of these nuts. Nothing done differently from past years. The rest of the pie baked perfectly. The crust was nicely browned around the edges and underneath. The filling was cooked properly.

I was thinking of cutting out a foil circle and laying it on top of the pie during baking or part of the baking but thought that may screw up the cooking of the filling.

Any ideas?

Here's the recipe:

Andy’s Pecan Pie

1 Pie crust

3 Eggs
1 C Dark Corn Syrup
2/3 C Sugar
Pinch Salt
6 Tb Butter, melted
1 1/2 tsp Vanilla
1/2 C Ground Pecans
1 C Chopped Pecans
1 1/2 C Pecan Halves

Preheat the oven to 350º F.

Prepare the pie crust and place it into a 9” pie plate. Shape the edge decoratively. Chill.

Mix the eggs, syrup, sugar, salt, butter, vanilla and ground pecans in a bowl.

Spread the chopped pecans on the pie crust.

Pour the liquid mixture on top of the chopped pecans.

Arrange the pecan halves decoratively on top.

Bake for 1 hour or until firm.

Cool before serving.