Dry, fallen cakes... please help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dragonfall1221

Assistant Cook
Hi! Newbie here with a baking problem that's driving me crazy!

I've tried baking cakes from scratch, but they always come out dry with concave tops. Store brought prepackaged mixes aren't as dry, but they still fall once they're out of the oven. A few times, they don't even rise.

My last attempt at baking was a chocolate cake. Here's the receipe:

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup butter
1 3/4 cups sugar
2 eggs
3 ounces unsweetened chocolate, melted and cooled
1 teaspoon vanilla.

I substituted 3 1/2 ounces nutella for the chocolate, since I like the flavor better and used exact measures of the other ingredients. THe receipe also called for 1 1/4 cups water added alternately with dry mixture to the butter, eggs, and sugar.
The receipe called for the cakes (two 9 inchers) to cook at 350 for 30-35 minutes. I checked the cakes at the given time and they had risen, but the toothpick came out gooey for both. Left cakes in and checked them every ten minutes until the toothpick came out clean. At the second check, both had fallen. :( The flavor of both cakes is good, but they are very crumbly and dry.
Anyone have any tips? I've tried some things, like turning the oven up 25 degrees, but I get the same result.

Any help would be great! Thanks,
dragonfall1221

Last edited:
2 things come to mind.
1) if it's falling in on it's self, sounds like you are banging things around, or perhaps opening the oven door while it's baking. Years ago my mother would announce when she way making a cake to prevent us from stomping around the house so the cake wouldn't fall.
2) if it's dry, try cooking alittle less, or lowering the temp a bit. Test your oven for proper calabration.