I don't want a crispy top on cupcakes!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

alex566

Assistant Cook
I have tried a lot of cake recipes. I have never had a soft top on a cupcake. I don't like these crispy tops. I guess you don't notice it once the frosting is one, but still. What is going on? I have been baking for 9 years and have never had a soft, spongy, shiny, top.

Do you have the oven rack in the middle of the oven and not higher?
What recipe are you using? A boxed mix or a recipe from scratch?

Always from scratch. I have done the normal butter cake with 4 to 2 eggs and like a cup to 3/4c butter. I love how the box mixes always turn out perfect.

Now that you both mention this topic, why are boxed mixes so perfect when baked and some scratch recipes tend to dry up easily? Should I be adding some shortening (besides butter) to my scratch cake recipes?

I said that every recipe that i have tried is this way. I have heard that this is quite common. Boxed mixes are so perfect because of the chemicals they put in them.

moisture equals shortening/oil/butter/lard. Add more oil or butter, it will bake up moist. Also, make sure your oven is calibrated properly.

Boxed mixes are so perfect because of the chemicals they put in them.

I'd love to know what they are! There sure is something that makes them different.

At the same time, I find box mixtures have this kind of 'bought' taste. Not sure how to describe it better than that... it's not bad or anything, just different.

My family and I can do without the chemicals then. Although a friend makes the most amazing cookies with cake mix, I will stick to homemade.

I love the way boxed cake mix is. The texture is very fine and they have lots of flavor. I'm always trying to find a recipe for cake that tastes like boxed cake mix.