Practicing writing with icing?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mrs_Krock

Assistant Cook
I'm new to the cake decorating world and would like to start practising writing with icing. I see on YouTube there are "practise" sheets you can use... does anyone know if there is somewhere on the internet I can get them from or somewhere to buy from? Or should I just make my own?

Thanks!

Thanks! Looks like Wilton is going to get some more money from me lol

:)

That will be great to start doing that Kell...there is deffo an art to it...I am pretty average at it :LOL:

Good luck with finding some practice sheets :)

I'm not sure what I'll be like with it Kylie but I wont know till I try :) fingers crossed I don't suck hahahahaha

Could you not just print some practice pages and use those or buy a stencil and practice? I assume you want to practice off a cake...

I'm not sure what I'll be like with it Kylie but I wont know till I try :) fingers crossed I don't suck hahahahaha

Kel, I am sure you will be brilliant at it...it looks like you are good at all things "cake" so I am positive you will be great!

Thanks! Looks like Wilton is going to get some more money from me lol

:)

Use the practice sheets. Then scrape it all up, put it back in the bag and do it all over again.

The main tip you will need is the smallest plain hole. It will give you the finest lines. Also get yourself a small offset spatual. Don't go over board buying everything. This is just for practice. Considering most cakes are eight or nine inches, use a practice sheet that is no larger than seven inches. It will help with the spacing. :chef:

Plain old wax paper works. You will be able to place a paper pattern under the waxpaper that allows you to trace the letters until your hand gets steady. You can even scrap off failures, add new wax paper and keep practicing. It's not complicated or expensive.