Why does this keep happening!?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

karen_s642

Assistant Cook
Hey everyone,
I'm new to this site.. I'm hoping someone here can I help me out.
I'm by no means an expert baker..but I've done some here and there and I certainly know how to bake chocolate chip cookies.. but you wouldn't know that from the ones I keep making.
I recently moved to South Korea with my boyfriend to teach English. My mom always bakes a ton of cookies and things at home for Christmas time, and as we won't be able to see our families this Christmas, I thought I'd try to do some baking here to help cure some homesickness.
My mom sent me all the recipes for her cookies.. including one for chocolate chip cookies. I tried it out 2 weeks ago, and they didn't work out. So, I thought maybe it was the recipe. I tried another one today and the same thing happened. Here's the recipe I used..

Makes 14-20 cookies
1 c. all purpose flour
½ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. sea salt
1 stick of butter, softened
1/3 c. granulated sugar
1/3 c. packed brown sugar
½ tsp. vanilla extract
1 large egg
1 c. (6 oz.) semi-sweet chocolate chips

I followed the recipes to a T. I thought the first time that the problem is that I'm using a toaster oven (regular ovens aren't widely used in Korea), but the above recipe was posted by a person who said she specifically uses a toaster oven!
I've posted pictures of what's happening. It seems like the cookies are just melting down.. and that's it. I tasted what was left of them.. the little mush that actually baked was delicious, so I don't think it's the recipe. Help!!

Attachments

• SDC10878.jpg
    SDC10878.jpg
    39.2 KB · Views: 212
  • SDC10877.jpg
    SDC10877.jpg
    56.3 KB · Views: 204
  • SDC10879.jpg
    SDC10879.jpg
    52.2 KB · Views: 202
  • SDC10880.jpg
    SDC10880.jpg
    77.3 KB · Views: 205