Coconut Christmas candy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

txson93

Assistant Cook
I'm a newbie to this site and I'm looking for a Coconut candy recipe. It used to be sold around Christmas time, usually in the bulk in the old time grocery stores. Does anyone remember the candy counters that had the glass lids? Well, what I'm trying to find is a recipe for hard candy, it was hard flakes with coconut in it, light brown in color and you had to be careful not to bite too hard into it or you could break a tooth!! Surely someone remembers it and can help me with a recipe.

Kenn

Sounds like a brittle. This is a good recipe.

Coconut Brittle
1 c Dark brown sugar, packed
1 c Light corn syrup
1 tb Butter, and extra for cookie sheet
1 ts Cider vinegar
1 1/2 c Grated coconut

1.Stir togetherr the brown sugar, corn syrup, butter and vinegar in a medium saucepan. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon, until the sugar dissolves.
2.Cover tightly and cook about 2-3 minutes, or until all sugar crystals have melted down from the sides of the pan. Uncover and cook without stirring until the mixture reaches the hard ball stage, 300F on the candy thermometer.
3.Generously butter a deep cookie sheet . Remove saucepan from heat and carefully stir in the coconut.
4.Spread mixture evenly onto prepared cookie sheet and let cool completely. Break into pieces and store in an airtight container.

On a quick Google search I found the following recipe for you...is either of these posts what you were after???

Coconut Christmas Candy
Ingredients:
3 cups coconut
2 cups powdered sugar
1/4 cup margarine, softened
1/4 cup evaporated milk
1 teaspoon almond extract
almond bark, vanilla or chocolate flavor

Directions: Combine all ingredients except almond bark. Mix well. Press into cookie cutters (open metal). Chill one hour.