"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Desserts, Sweets & Cookies & Candy > Candies and Chocolates
Click Here to Login

Old 03-06-2020, 03:02 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Question Is it possible to create hard sugar candies that donít melt?

I’m an MFA student, with few culinary skills, and I have been trying to create edible sugar arrows that will not melt when on display. Currently they can’t even be in contact with the air/humidity in my studio for less than ten minutes without getting sticky and adhering themselves to my table.

The bit of research I have done talked about a lack of humidity, which is difficult as I live in Florida and do most of my cooking either in my studio or in the shop (surprisingly the shop has much more temperature/humidity control).

I just started reading about isomalt last night, but am still unsure if that’s going to solve my problem?

The current recipe I have been using is:
(which works really great for my sugar caltrops, which I want to melt)

3 ĺ cup granulated sugar
1 Ĺ cup light corn syrup
1 cup water

A professor said that perhaps there was some sort of “fibrous” ingredient I could add that might keep it from melting? In a different conversation he had jokingly mentioned adding in some arrowroot and now I’m seriously considering it; even though I have no idea what it would do to my sugar, lol.

Maybe what I’m hoping to accomplish isn’t even possible?
But any advice would be greatly appreciated; even if the advice is that I'm waisting my time, lol.

kay_peep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 07:32 AM   #2
Cook

Quote:
Originally Posted by kay_peep View Post
Iím an MFA student, with few culinary skills, and I have been trying to create edible sugar arrows that will not melt when on display. Currently they canít even be in contact with the air/humidity in my studio for less than ten minutes without getting sticky and adhering themselves to my table.