Beef broccoli - fishy?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ravich

Assistant Cook
So I've made this beef broccoli recipe before:

Thai Beef Broccoli

It turned out well, but it seems a bit fishier than I would like, and I *think* the oyster sauce is to blame, since I know what fish sauce tastes like. Any recommendations based on that recipe? I'm thinking something slightly sweeter and less fishy but I'm not quite sure.

I don't use oyster sauce and only use fish sauce rarely but it seems to me that you could just switch the amounts of fish sauce and oyster sauce around in that recipe. Just a guess though.

I'd skip the fish sauce entirely, and split the oyster sauce 50/50 with soy sauce.
Or keep the fish sauce (which I dearly love), reduce the oyster sauce to 1/3 and
use soy to taste.

I have a question 'bout that fish sauce. I have never used it before, nor ever felt the need to. But, however, I recently started watching Luke Nguyen's show from the Food Network. I like the show alot, &, just enjoy it to bits, but, I noticed that the main "staple" ingredients that he uses are fish sauce, chili/chili oils, sugar & vinegars & such.
Well, at some point in time, I decided that I too, should give this fish sauce a chance, &, bought a bottle of KAME fish sauce. Couldn't wait to get it home to open the bottle up. Well, once home, & opened, I took half of a sniff of the concoction, &, very nearly almost immediately wanted to cut my nose straight off from my face. No offence intended to any who DO like it/use it, but...I am at a cross-roads for myself now. I simply just can't even bring myself to give this stuff a taste, but...can't help but wonder if any out there have had a similar reaction, but, then got "over-it"?
PS - the chili oil turned out to be a nice surprise!

Ravich, what kind of oil did you use? Was it canola?