Help with Pot Roast- dinner is in 3 hours!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zzmmmommy

Assistant Cook
I made a pot roast for a family dinner tonight and it isn't coming out right - this is my first time and a friend gave me the recipe.
Onions, carrots, celery, roast, a few dashes of Worcestershire (totally spelled wrong) sauce, and a little beef broth.
The roast has been in the crock pot for about 6 hours and it still isn't tender - it is completely tough and the carrots don't taste so good. There is no flavor in it. Can I rescue this or is it too late? Please help, dinner is in 3 hours!

Is it on low or high? What cut of beef? You could cut it into chunks, turn up the heat, add a couple bay leaves and some salt and pepper, maybe some Rotel or tomato paste, perhaps a beef boullion cube or some dry onion soup mix.

Last edited:
It is on low, I just added some salt and a drop of pepper. Hopefully this will help. Should I put it on high for the last 2 hours?

Ok- thanks. I just changed it. I was looking to see if I had any onion soup mix to add some seasoning but I don't have any. The carrots just taste so bland to me.

If you didn't brown your meat first do it next time. That's where all the flavor comes from.

If possible get it out of the crockpot and into something with a tight lid that can go into the oven. Cook it on 300.

zzmmmommy said:
Ok- thanks. I just changed it. I was looking to see if I had any onion soup mix to add some seasoning but I don't have any. The carrots just taste so bland to me.

Sometimes we get carrots that have little or no flavor. Not your fault.

It is on low, I just added some salt and a drop of pepper. Hopefully this will help. Should I put it on high for the last 2 hours?