Inquiry - Questions about how to make a perfect, Tender Roast Beef

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wtdedula

Assistant Cook
Hello All;
I have been a home cook and a cooking enthusiast all my life ever since my mother taught me how to make and cookies when I was young.

For the longest time, I have been trying to master the fine art of making tender, thin sliced roast beef like I'd get in a restaurant.

I have heard often that one key to making awesome it to cook it at a low temperature for a long duration (210-degrees for 4 to 5 hours as an example).

I have also heard that packing the roast with salt all over seals in the and improves flavor and tenderness. I have a bunch of questions about this part.

First, how is this done? I have done some research on the internet and have found that the usual way is to make a paste with a lots of and some water and then encase the roast in it. Is this the way and is this the best way ?

And second, Even though I know we're supposed to remove this cap of salt after the roast is finished and before carving, wouldn't this make the roast very, very salty ?

And next, if your answer to the last question is "YES", is there another way other than using salt that would get the same or nearly the same benefit ?

And finally, do restaurants actually use this method of using salt like this ?

Thanks much for answering my questions.

Tim

Last edited by a moderator:
Tim, I don't think the salt-crusted technique is a common one in restaurants. I've never done one. And I've never cooked a roast beef low and slow that has come out rare.

The best way to make a tender, rare roast beef is to start with a great cut of beef. Tenderloin and rib roasts are expensive, but virtually idiot-proof, as long as you only cook them to say 130 degrees internal temp (depending on how rare you want it).