ISO Help With Tonight's Filet Mignon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mylegsbig

Head Chef
Hey guys. I am cooking for friends, and compared to them, thanks to you all here, im an experienced chef. im cooking up some prime filet mignon, but the thing is, i don't know their stove. MED HIGH over there will not be like MED HIGH over here.

I know there is some way to tell how hot a skillet is to cook a filet, with droplets of water. im using my method of searing for 2 mins then finishing in the oven.

How does a drop of water appear in a steel skillet that is ready to sear a 2" filet mignon?

I really don't want to blow this guys. I want to do a great job.

Any other methods to find out how hot to make it?

thanks so much in advance.

the water droplets will do a merry little dance all over the skillet bottom if it's hot - plus you should almost be able to smell the hotness. Good luck - it's tricky trying to cook on someone else's stove!

you might burn the surfaces, but that's pretty tough to do on a consumer stove top, and if the meat has nothing more than s&p on it, and if you're checking it regularly (but not completely lifting it until it's seared).

besides, too hot is easy to correct. just turn down the heat a little.

if the stove tops burners suck, i would go with the broiler at first, then into a baking dish, or better yet, a cast iron grill pan in the oven.

Don't be so worried. The pan will cool a little when the meat goes in. At that point you'll know if it's too hot or not. Maybe a 3-4 count would be a good rule of thumb.