Steak Tartare

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MartintheLondonCook

Assistant Cook
Hello all, this is my first post. I am Martin from the UK and I love cooking. I am not a professional chef, I just love food.

I am a member of other forums on the web but this is the first time I have been on a cooking forum.

So, get yourself some nice fillet beef, a jar of gherkins, a jar of capers (Both in salt water/brine). Fresh coriander and sea salt, Tabasco and Worcestershire sauce if you have them and the freshest egg you can find (I get mine from a friend who has chickens so these egg yolks are a day or so old).

Chop (Do not mince) the beef, chop the gherkins and capers (You need roughly two part beef to one part gherkins and one part capers. A nice sprinkle of English mustard powder is good too. Make sure you mix the ingredients well.

Serve with sourdough bread with a drizzle of good olive oil, dressed with a few fresh chives

Attachments

• TT1.jpg
    TT1.jpg
    65.9 KB · Views: 552
  • TT2.jpg
    TT2.jpg
    73.6 KB · Views: 290
  • TT3.jpg
    TT3.jpg
    39.1 KB · Views: 324
  • TT4.jpg
    TT4.jpg
    63.2 KB · Views: 324
The eggs are laid by a friends chickens, recently I have tried to make 50% of my diet raw and organic. I am feeling better for it. The egg gives a lovely coating to the beef once its broken, I would not want a tartare without one!! Fresh though! and free range and organic!!!!

Thank you for the welcome :D

Why is everyone against raw eggs? I would not eat random raw egg but if its free range and organic and from well kept chickens then its a treat and extremely nutritious. There is quite a weight of evidence pointing towards the lack of raw food and various illnesses. I won't rant though, each to their own and thank you for the kind welcome folks :)