Stuck on Steak

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mrs. Cuillo

Sous Chef
I am still pretty new to the world of cooking though I have gotten better.:chef: I don't get frustrated when something comes out bad, I take it as a learning experience. I've finally accepted the fact that cooking is something that needs to be practiced and may not always turn out the best the first time!
I have tried to cook T-Bones, NY strips, sirloin...you name it, I've tried to cook it. You would think with all the times of coming out so well done it's close to leather that I would be able to figure out what in the world I am doing wrong!
I've tried searing it on the stove then finishing it in the oven...I've tried using the Foreman Grill...I've tried broiling it in the oven...what am I doing wrong?

close to leather sounds like cooked to long. If you gave us more step by step on what you did we would have a better idea.
There are a lot of factors including cut of meat, marinades if any, rubs if any, cooking methods, cooking times, and how you like it done from rare to well done.

I like my steak medium rare. The only rub I use is a little S&P. As far as the cooking time goes, I based that on what the outside looks like and when I cut into it, what that looks like. But usually the outside looks grayish and doesn't look like a steak should so I cook it a little long to make it look appatizing. Any help?

Higher heat to sear the outside before finishing in the oven. A good sear takes a high heat so if it is graying then the heat is too low.
About five minutes on each side in a little EVOO and garlic with just your rub should do it, and depending on the thickness that may be all you need.