Never made a pork loin. Really.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Caviar

Assistant Cook
I see pork loins in the meat dept. They're labeled 'pork loin', are about 8"- 12" long and maybe 3" in diameter. Some are pre-packaged, some not.

I'm too embarrassed to ask anyone I know how to do this from A-Z. As I'm also a LOUSY cook, I need specific instructions.

Will someone walk me through this from what to buy, etc.?

Oh- DH and I are not 'spicy'. Neither of us handles garlic, onions or hot spices too well.

We're also trying to watch what we eat, so I'm not sure if pork loin would be a good choice or not for a meal with a large vegetable serving and a small carb. serving.

I sound like such a DOPE!

You don't sound like a dope at all. More like someone who wants to learn more about cooking.

Pork loin is a very lean cut of pork and makes a great roast. At 8"-12" long, you're in the three pound range. You can easily just place it in a roasting pan seasoned with salt and pepper and roast it at 400 F until it reaches an internal temperature of 145 F-150 F. Then let it rest, loosely covered in foil for 10-15 minutes before slicing.

This is one of my favorite cut of meat.
You can fix this many ways.

Roasted.. sprinkle it liberally with your favorite spice mix, both sides. Pre-heat an oven to 500F. Stick the roast in uncovered on a rack for 15 minutes then drop the heat to 240F and cook until it reads 142 inside. Pull it out and let it set for at least 15 minutes. The inside will hit 145, or just above and will very juicy, but done. Do NOT overcook. It will go dry and lose flavor.
I serve this as a dinner, or/and slice it thin and use it for lunch meat. It' cheaper than bologna and a lot better for you.

You can also grill it either whole, cook slow, butterfly it, or slice it into "boneless" chops.