Made a lamb curry - but not flavour!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nimmi

Assistant Cook
I'm new to cooking and have tried a couple of indian curries. I put in all the spices and right quantities as the recipies - only problem is the meat doesn't seem to absorb the flavour. What am I doing wrong?!?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!:neutral:

did you marinate the meat for some hours before cooking, that usually helps a lot. Also freshly ground spices (coriander, fenugreek, cardamom etc.) have much more flavour than the spices which bought already powdered. If you enjoy indian food, it may be worthwhile to invest in a pestle to ground the spices.;)

There is a certain technique to making curries if you want the meat to absorb the flavor and to make the entire thing come out more flavorful.

Marination as urmaniac indicated is one - so marinate the meat in some yogurt, freshly minced ginger and garlic for an hour or so before cooking

To me however the most important thing more than marination is the spices you use and how you layer the flavors.

So I never use pre-ground spices to make curries. It's easier to use whole cumin, whole corrainder, whole black pepper, cinnamon stick, cloves, cardamom etc. and also dried red chillies, roast them in a dry skillet and dry grind them in a coffee grinder. You can buy small bottles of these spices and in the long run they last longer so you save money.

Another key ingredient is onions. So large onion finely chopped is a must to give good body to a curry. Finally freshly cut tomatoes (2-3 of them). Freshly grated ginger and garlic and fresh cilantro.