Carrot Soup with Ginger and Lemon ... Problems

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

redmike

Senior Cook
Carrot Soup with Ginger and Lemon Problems

hi,

maybe I shouldn't have put these two questions in one post but this is my first post to the group and didn't want to post twice and have you guys say - wow, this guy is going to be a pest ! :rolleyes:

I'm just making a carrot soup and two things in the recipe interested me ..

1) after adding the carrots to the sauteed onions, ginger and garlic it says to saute for one minute. What does a one minute of sauteing do ?

2) the recipe calls for fresh lemon juice but it's only to be added after the soup is cooked and liquidized. What would happen if the lemon juice were added earlier?

When I was 18 I wanted to become a saucier but it didn't happen and I was a film editor for most of my life instead - different kind of chopping I guess :LOL:

I love cooking so I shall no doubt pester you some more ..

thanks

Mike

1) after adding the carrots to the sauteed onions, ginger and garlic it says to saute for one minute. What does a one minute of sauteing do ?

You often see this in recipes when adding liquid after adding the main is a later step such as with rice pilafs or even some lentil dishes. I guess the idea is that little bit of frying with the aromatics in the hot fat allows their flavours to permeate the carrot better. Would the dish turn out radically different if you didn't saute the carrots? No.

2) the recipe calls for fresh lemon juice but it's only to be added after the soup is cooked and liquidized. What would happen if the lemon juice were added earlier?

Citric juices are often added at the end of cooking for a number of reasons: