Childhood vs Now

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kevin86

Senior Cook
What was your mom’s soup you remember from growing up?
What was your most memorable soup you made for your kids?
What is your favourite soup now?

Do you make any changes tweaks or changes to soups from your past?

How have the soups of your life changed over time and generations

When I was a kid, mom made my favorite, chicken soup with egg and lemon.

When my kids were growing up their favorite soup was my mom's chicken soup with egg and lemon.

These days my favorite soup is mom's chicken soup with egg and lemon.

I have a lot of soups I love as I am a fan of soups, but mom's wins out over all the others.

My Mom didn't make a lot soup that wasn't from a can. (50s housewives were encouraged to open cans, as it was more "modern.")

So I'll talk about my first revelation in soup. I was a poor graduate student, and I had a Betty Crocker "Cooking for 2" cookbook. In it was the simplest recipe, almost, for split pea soup. I had never had split pea soup, except once or twice in cafeterias, where I liked it. I determined to make it.

I called my Mom in a panic about ham hocks - they had a few hairs on them - what to do? Well, believe me, she had never cooked with ham hocks in her life. So I scrubbed them well, and followed the recipe.

It was wonderful! It was sustaining! It was super cheap! I ate it for days. It is still my favorite recipe for green split pea soup. As a matter of fact, I just offered the recipe to a great-niece who is starting out. She "doesn't like pea soup."

Is no one young, poor, and hungry anymore :yum:

My Mom didn't make a lot soup that wasn't from a can. (50s housewives were encouraged to open cans, as it was more "modern.")