Freezing soup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
It freezes great. I divide my leftover soup into 1.5-2 cup portions and put it in ziplock bags so when I want some for lunch or dinner, I don't have to thaw the whole thing.

I agree with all. Yes, you can freeze any soup. Be sure to leave some space for freezing expansion and all is well. Always nice to have some frozen soup in the freezer.

Freeze away. I've been freezing all kinds of soups for many, many years with no adverse consequences. Right now I have 3 different kinds of soup in my freezer awaiting a busy day or a day when I just want soup.

Yup - freezes great!!

For thick soups like split pea, & chili & stuff, sometimes I'll line a individual serving-size bowl with plastic wrap, pour in the cooled soup, & freeze it. I then fold the wrap over the top, remove it from the bowl & freeze it along with others in a Ziploc bag.

For thawing I just run some hot water over the plastic wrap, pop the soup serving minus the plastic back in the same bowl I froze it in, & thaw & reheat it in that. No fuss, no muss.

I've frozen a few soups in my time. I like to use a gallon ziplock baggie, and will pour maybe two quarts into the bag, and freeze. Being in a bag that big, if you lay it flat, it's rather thin, and thaws rapidly.

If you freeze a soup with potatoes in it, when you thaw and reheat that soup, that potatoes will have a mealy, grainy texture, but will taste OK.

I've got some Posole in my freezer right now. I'm wondering if the hominy will also have a mealy texture.

AllenOK said:
I've got some Posole in my freezer right now. I'm wondering if the hominy will also have a mealy texture.

Just curious, what was the hominy like post freezing?

AllenOK said:
If you freeze a soup with potatoes in it, when you thaw and reheat that soup, that potatoes will have a mealy, grainy texture, but will taste OK.