Need Cream of Mushroom Soup advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Alx26

Cook
Hey guys well as I might have mentioned before I am only learning to cook, So I am sorry if this question is very simple or.....

First of all, what is in your opinion the best way of making Cream of mushroom soup? I know the basic outline:
Saute onions and mushrooms in butter, add some flour. then add chicken stock and cream.

But could you tell me how you like to make it, and what else you add. Do you pure the mushrooms and onions in a blender?

Also could you maybe post some more simple soup recipes here for me. By quite simple soups here. Like leak soups and that.
Thanks.

Al, you could puree part of the soup, then put it back in with the chunkier stuff.

Here is my Leek and potato soup. It's easy, once you get the potatoes peeled.

Leek and potato soup

Ingredients:
6 thick slices of bacon, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
3-4 leeks, white part only, sliced thin
6 cloves garlic, minced
approx. 1/4 cup flour
2 cans chicken broth
2 cups skim milk (or whatever kind you have on hand)
2 cups water if needed
6-8 medium Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled and chopped in bite-size pieces
2 tbl salt
white pepper to taste
2 tbl chopped Italian parsley
4 oz reduced fat cream cheese, cubed (opt)

Directions:
Sweat chopped bacon slowly in a soup pot over medium heat. When it's beginning to crisp, add onions and cook a few minutes. Then add leeks and garlic, and continue to cook until vegies are tender. Add flour and turn heat up to med/high. Cook and stir a few minutes , then stir in the chicken broth. Continue stirring until sauce begins to thicken, then add milk, potatoes, Italian parsley, salt and pepper. Add water or more milk, if needed, to cover potatoes. Simmer on med/low heat until potatoes are tender, reseason, then add cream cheese and stir till melted.