Question on Making Broth (or Stock)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DaveM

Assistant Cook
Hi Everyone,

Ok, admittedly I'm a noob to cooking so please pardon any glaring errors. :unsure:

I've started with the simple stuff like making soups and such, and am looking to start experimenting with broth, or stock (not sure which term is applicable).

Here is the skinny. Best I can tell whenever you make soup, and chill it, the soup will get a little gelatinous. I'm looking to make the broth and keep it in a more liquid form. By way of example something similar to the liquid broth made by Pacific Foods.

So is it something as simple as adding more water, or am I missing something? If anyone has a recipe, or suggestion, I'm all ears.
:chef:

Thanks,
Dave

Hi Everyone,

Ok, admittedly I'm a noob to cooking so please pardon any glaring errors. :unsure:

I've started with the simple stuff like making soups and such, and am looking to start experimenting with broth, or stock (not sure which term is applicable).

Here is the skinny. Best I can tell whenever you make soup, and chill it, the soup will get a little gelatinous. I'm looking to make the broth and keep it in a more liquid form. By way of example something similar to the liquid broth made by Pacific Foods.

So is it something as simple as adding more water, or am I missing something? If anyone has a recipe, or suggestion, I'm all ears.
:chef:

Thanks,
Dave