Reccomend a good stock (UK)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SimonSoup

Assistant Cook
Hello - new here

I am a big fan of soup (thin and clear soups) and whilst certainly no chef, I have been making my own for several years.

One soup I adore is minestrone - but I can't ever get it to taste quite so good as is often found in various Italian restaurants, the good ones all have the same zip to them that mine sadly does not.

I have tried countless recipes but that doesn't work so I am confident it must be the stock.

So my question is, is there a good quality stock out there that I do not know of? I have tried to make my own on a few occasions but it really didn't help and was probably worse :D

Stock recommendations welcome!

I really like the Knorr stocks. You can also get "fresh" stock in the refrigerated section of the supermarket.
Resturants will make their own stock, different in each one, so any bought stock will not match.
It may be that they all use another ingrdient not generally found in any recipe.

What did you make your stock with? If it was not bones, then what you made was more of a broth, and would have less ability to carry flavors.

Also, when you make stock (or broth for that matter), you should start with cold water, up to the top of the ingredients, and gently bring it to a simmer, and leave barely bubbling for an hour or two. Keep replacing the evaporated water with hot water so you don't get exposed ingredients.

Once this is done and you have removed the bones and aromatic veggies, plus whatever else, you can reduce the stock further to intensify the flavor.

And if you start with bones that have been roasted, you will get a different flavor, but I don't think that would match well with the minestrone, as you should be aiming a "fresher" flavor.