Rocklobster's Tex Mex Chicken Rice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rocklobster

Master Chef
Here is a soup I make regularly in the deli..it has a bit of cumin and chili powder to give it a Southwestern flavor..I'm not good at ingredient amounts so, proceed as you would with any vegetable/rice soup depending on the size of pot you want to make..lol

lg onion
green and/or red pepper
carrots
celery
garlic
frozen corn
can of black beans
can of diced to tomatoes
chicken stock, or water with powdered chicken base
chicken meat
cooked rice (1-2 cups)
ground cumin
Mexican chili powder
oregano
salt and pepper to taste

Coarsely chop all veg, add to pot with all of the ingredients except the cooked rice..bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes or vegetables are tender..add rice and continue to simmer for another 10 minutes..adjust seasoning with salt and pepper or more powdered soup base..That should do it..enjoy!

Attachments

• 83935456_667374277331269_3813687009000554496_n.jpg
    83935456_667374277331269_3813687009000554496_n.jpg
    42.4 KB · Views: 156
Last edited:
Sounds good Roch. What differentiates Mexican chili powder from regular chili powder?
Well, good question..Mexican chili spice is a blend of spices like cumin, coriander, garlic, oregano, paprika....there are different versions..up here, anyway..things are probably different in the US and even more so in the South West..but, I deal with what I have up here..
This is a common supermarket brand you can get..

Attachments

• club_house_chili_powder_hot_600.jpg
    club_house_chili_powder_hot_600.jpg
    28.4 KB · Views: 123
Last edited:
Nice looking soup. Very Tex-Mex sounding recipe.

Like Rock said, Chili powder is a blend of dried and ground chilis, and other herbs and spices. People argue over whether is was invented in Mexico or Texas. I don't know -- don't care.