"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Discuss Cooking Community Forums > New Member Introductions!
Click Here to Login

Old 03-02-2020, 12:37 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Talking April here! Nice to be part of the community

This is my first time actively participating in a Forum, however I am switching to a low carb eating plan to destroy the diabetes I have, and there are almost NO low carb canning recipes out there. I've resolved to try to convert regular recipes to low carb, and to can them myself. I Love Soup.
I live in the South, in Houston, Texas USA, and am at Sea Level - literally - less than 50 miles from the Gulf of Mexico! Yeah, sand and tide!
Most of the recipes I have come from low carb websites, and hopefully won't need much adjustment to can - and I will always credit the creator's website. They did all the work, I'm just reaping the benefits and making necessary adjustments for my preferences.
I LOVE SOUP.
I hope we have lots of fun combining interests.. low carb/keto, canning/preserving, sharing recipes, and cooking! oh.. and Soup. Did I mention I love soup?

aftaylor5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 01:07 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire

Hi and welcome to Discuss Cooking

Do you have experience with canning? If there are no tested and approved recipes that meet your requirements, it may be because it isn't a safe practice. When you say low carb, what exactly do you mean? Which ingredients do you want to include or exclude?

I love soup, too. Just made red lentil soup last week.

Old 03-02-2020, 01:13 PM   #3
Certified Pretend Chef

Welcome to DC.
Old 03-02-2020, 01:21 PM   #4
Senior Cook

Welcome to the DC message board.

Soup lover here too.

I bought me some Ox Tail bones last week and I'm fixing to
stir up a pot of Ox Tail soup real soon.
RCJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 02:28 PM   #5
Assistant Cook