Hello From A Food Writer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AshlieStevens

Assistant Cook
Hi everyone-- my name is Ashlie Stevens. I am a writer working on a piece for Paste Magazine (I hope this is okay to share in the group? If not, I will gladly delete!) about recipes people grew up eating that incorporated Velveeta cheese, and how people are modifying those recipes now using different cheese or even making homemade Velveeta. If you have a favorite recipe or memory of a recipe that fits this theme, I'd love to hear from you and ask you a few questions for this piece! Thank you!

Hi Ashlie and welcome.

You will find some here who love Velveeta, and those who think it's vile, to put it nicely.

Personally, I don't use it often but have nothing against it either. It's melting qualities are outstanding in my opinion.

What questions do you want to ask?

Welcome to DC.

I'm in the Velveeta fan corner. I get the low fat version, and find it makes a great base for cauliflower or broccoli cheese soup, as well as vegetable sauces. I usually add additional cheeses along with other ingredients. I too love Velveeta's melting qualities.

Last edited:
I have to agree with the above. Due to its melting qualities, its often one of the cheese of choice for me to create a nice soup base for broccoli or cauliflower cheese soups. Ill often add additional varieties of cheese for different flavors.

I also remember 100 years ago, when i was in high school we made a killer mac and cheese using velveeta too, I don't remember the actual recipe though.

Also good to make a cheese sauce to drizzle on nachos too.

Velveeta isn't actually cheese. It's "Pasteurized Recipe Cheese Product". It doesn't contain cheese, but does have milk solids, etc. Because of that, it melts beautifully, unlike real cheese, which separates into fat & solids when too much heat is applied.