Hello from Lancashire, UK

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

EmmaS04

Assistant Cook
Hi all!!

I'm a newbie here who is desperately trying to improve my skills. I've done a course in France, just 3 days where we learnt a handful of recipes but I want to go from just been good at cooking to really know what I'm doing. I keep finding courses for chefs or courses for bread making or Italian/Thai/Indian food etc but no intermediary course to improve existing skills. I'm not sure what it would teach in all honesty but I don't know how to improve more. Other then practise practise practise, does anyone have any recommendations?

I love to cook, not great at baking, I find it so relaxing and a great way to destress. So hopefully I'll be able to use these forums for plenty inspiration.

Thanks!
Emma

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Discuss Cooking mobile app

... but no intermediary course to improve existing skills. I'm not sure what it would teach in all honesty but I don't know how to improve more. Other then practise practise practise, does anyone have any recommendations?

Hello Emma and Welcome to DC!

I think you will have to decide exactly which skills you want to improve. You pretty much said it yourself... practice, practice practice! :LOL:

In general, you might start with just different areas of a meal.. just like an apprentice would in a restaurant. Concentrate on just soups or salads for a while. Types of soups, clear, creamy, hot, cold. Get down to making basic stocks and what suits you best.

And of course, read lots of the posts here in DC. Everyone has a different technique for everything, probably even to making ice-cubes!