Here I Am

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HistoricFoodie

Senior Cook
Central Kentucky---Where The Bluegrass Meets The M
Hi, everyone. Several members had recommended I join this community, and I've finally signed on.

My name is Brook, and I am a freelance writer with gardening and culinary arts among my specialties. I've been cooking, both as a home cook and professionally, since I was 8 years old. Won't tell you how long that's been, but I've seen 11 presidents.

I'm particularly involved with the foodways of colonial North America, and have written two books on the subject. As part of this, along with my bride of 45 years, I run the historic gardens and foodways interpretations at a restored 18th century frontier fort.

I'm greatly involved in the heirlooms movement, have been for nearly a quarter century. So much so, that I won't put a hybrid in the ground, as much for political reasons as horticultural ones.

We live in central Kentucky, on 13 acres, most of which we leave wild. The rest is used for our extensive vegetable gardens.

So, that's a little about me.

Welcome. You know, I've never counted, but I see I'm up to eleven, too. Twelve, if you count Truman, but I don't remember him. That's a quarter of those 44 buggers! That's sort of strange.

I just ordered Mark Kurlansky's "Food of a Younger Land" from my local library. Descriptions lead me to believe that it is primarily about the 20th century before World War II. Can you recommend any titles that focus more on the 18th and 19th centuries?

Mark Lurlansky is one of my favorite food historians. Anyone who hasn't read his "Salt" and "Cod" doesn't deserve to call themself a foodie. I haven't read "Food of a Younger Land" as yet. Isn't that the one dealing with the WPA's America Eats project for out-of-work writers?