Intro from a cooking newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DumbSheila

Assistant Cook
Hi all, just wanted to say hello.

My name is Mehgan and I am new to cooking. I've always hated cooking, actually, and b/c I lived on my own for a few years, I got used to cooking for myself and having quick, put-together meals that aren't very good for me (think PastaRonis and Ramen). Then I married an extremely picky eater. Somehow I took up cooking when we got married, and needless to say, it's been difficult (since I don't believe in catering to my husband's picky pallet. Instead, I try to compromise and have him try new things while still eating the things I like--there's little I don't eat!).

Anyway, I bought a cookbook of "almost homemade" meals and I find that's my favorite type of cooking. It gives us a variety of things to eat, broadens my creativity levels (who knew you could whip peanut butter into vanilla icing for peanut butter icing???), and makes food a little more fun for me and my picky husband.

So I'm here for some craetive ideas that won't have me going to the store daily for supplies I never thought I'd need (what the heck is cream of tarter???) and add a little variety to our lives.

And also, I think cilantro is the greatest thing in the entire world, but I've never cooked with it.

Looking forward to reading threads adn posting! :)

DumbSheila said:
Hi all, just wanted to say hello.