Let's get Medieval!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

erehweslefox

Sous Chef
Hey friends,

I'm an English professor and bookseller from Eastern PA. I love researching and reviving historical recipes, foraging, and particularly cooking and baking on an open fire (when I can).

I also cook in the house, I'm the main chef in our household, wife and I have a deal, I take care of the food, and she does the laundry. We tried alternating and, well, we have a lot of pink shirts that used to be white, and the local pizza delivery guy still got invited to the wedding. Decided to stick to what we prefer and do well.

So in the house, we love the slow cooker, our pressure cooker, a variety of cast iron. Tend to cook a lot of stews, big casseroles, stuff that can be portioned out and reheated. (we have hectic schedules, so we like things that can be cooked ahead and are grab and go).

Not to say we don't have a blow out every now and then, and just cook a ridiculous dinner.

Always trying to expand my repertoire of recipes and techniques. I've baked my own bread for quite some time (have a sourdrough starter that is ten years old, and has survived a move to Oklahoma and back), but recently been trying to figure out pies and pastry.

And, of course, we go camping once a month, so I always like suggestions for campfire cooking and food.

Hope to have some fun and share some recipes with you.

TBS

Welcome! It sounds like you have a lot of fun and have things to share. ?

Eat anything you want, but make it yourself.

Posting from the app.

Jen, love this. can I use it?

We had a health scare, and changed how we eat. Basically we had to drop our bad cholesterol and manage weight. I decided we were eating too much processed shite, and got a plan going where we only eat our own cooking and we try to cook from scratch whenever possible.