New here and to cooking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

guineapig0121

Assistant Cook
Hello everyone. I am in my 20's and pretty much just starting to cook. I am not very good at it. Last year was my 1st time making a meal and I chose meatloaf. Well, it didn't turn out that good. Recently just got a Crockpot, so Im trying to put that to use. I make chili this weekend. It actually turned out good once we added more things to it since I forgot a can of tomatoes then I added water to it. I couldn't figure out how to mince the garlic. I was supposed to put 2 cloves in, but I only thought there was one piece of garlic in the middle of the bulb and I couldn't find it I ended up throwing both bulbs in the garbage. Now I realize that each clove is a piece of garlic. I guess was a good that I couldn't figure it out, because I would have put 2 bulbs of garlic in it. I know I will be asking tons of stuff here :)

You came to the right place!!! There is such a wealth of knowledge here it's crazy, and we love helping each other!! As you now know, a clove is just one of the individual pieces in the bulb, and you just have to peel it, then chop it fine :) or, you can buy pre-minced garlic in a jar in the produce section. 1 tsp is approximately 1 clove. OR, you can always sub powdered garlic. 1/4 tsp = 1 clove :)

Oh, and for some people, treating a recipe like a chemistry experiment can help them get it right. Read through the whole thing before you start, gather your materials, and double check measurements before you add them. Otherwise, cooking just takes practice. As you cook more, you will learn what works, and what doesn't. And if something doesn't seem to be working, we can always try to help you troubleshoot, too!

Welcome to the forum!

Last edited:
Welcome to DC. When you run into a question like the garlic, just post us here. Someone will be happy to help.